Accountant CRM: Compare Sales and Practice Management
October 2026: compare 8 accountant CRM options, from free sales tools to recurring-work systems, with prices, contracts and integration limits.
For owners of independent local service businesses in the United States, especially accounting, bookkeeping and tax firms choosing between sales CRM and accounting practice management.
Choose a sales CRM when inquiries, referral tracking and follow-ups are the problem; choose accounting practice management when recurring jobs, document requests and deadlines are the problem. HubSpot CRM and Zoho CRM offer ongoing free entry points with different user limits. Pipedrive places full email synchronization in Growth, while Freshsales starts paid annual billing at $9/user/month. For accounting delivery, compare Financial Cents' annual agreement, Karbon's automation tier, TaxDome's upfront commitments and Canopy's add-ons against your actual staffing and workload.
Owners wanting sales follow-ups with built-in email, phone and chat at a low paid annual starting rate.
4.5 ★623 reviews
$0 for up to three users
An accountant CRM can organize prospective clients or manage the accounting work that follows an engagement. HubSpot CRM, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive and Freshsales principally support sales relationships. Karbon, TaxDome, Canopy and Financial Cents connect client records with accounting practice management.
Choose around the work you need to improve: inquiry follow-ups, recurring bookkeeping, tax-document collection or team deadlines. Compare the relevant plan, billing commitment and integration behavior before moving client information. A sales pipeline alone does not establish a monthly-close or tax-return workflow.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
HubSpot CRM
Best for owners organizing inquiries, referral relationships, meetings and sales follow-ups before an accounting engagement.
4.5 ★ · 4,491
PricingFrom $0
October 12, 2026 CRM page: Free $0; Starter starts at $15/month per seat; Professional $50; Enterprise $75. Billing commitments behind the paid starting prices are not specified. Separate Sales Hub pricing uses different amounts and packaging.
Strengths
+Free supports two users and 1,000 contacts, with contact management, deal pipelines, tasks, communication history, reporting dashboards and meeting scheduling; it requires no credit card and has no expiration date.
+Forms, landing pages, email marketing, live chat and email tracking support inquiry capture and follow-up. Starter adds required fields and permission sets; Professional adds contact scoring, duplicate management and custom reporting.
+QuickBooks Online connects contacts, invoices and products bidirectionally, with payment updates; payments covering multiple invoices do not sync. CallRail adds call, text and form attribution to contact timelines.
Watch for
–Its sales and communication tools do not establish accounting job templates, recurring close workflows or tax-document request management. Plan a separate delivery system when those are the main requirements.
–The Starter discount is for new customers and can be discontinued. Paid contact caps, usage allowances and additional charges need checking against the relevant packaging; the CRM page does not specify them.
–Users report complex pricing and recurring glitches. Capterra pages differ on review count, showing 4,487–4,491 reviews at 4.5/5; these cover the full CRM reviewer population rather than accounting owners alone.
Best for accounting teams that need client communication, work ownership and recurring delivery in one practice-management system.
4.7 ★ · 208
PricingFrom $59/user/month billed annually
October 11, 2026: Team $59/user/month annually or $79 monthly; Business $89 annually or $99 monthly; Enterprise custom pricing, not disclosed. Monthly subscriptions require at least four users.
Strengths
+All plans include integrated email, collaboration, workflow, client management and portal, documents, time tracking, billing and payments. These connect client conversations with assigned accounting work.
+Business adds automatic client reminders and task automation, with unlimited contacts, 75 work templates and 50 work statuses. Team includes 1,000 contacts, 40 templates and 35 statuses.
+QuickBooks Online Accountant supports two-way contact and payment synchronization, with invoices flowing from Karbon. Connected storage includes Google Drive, Dropbox and SharePoint; Ignition supports engagement handoff.
Watch for
–Every team member needing access requires a paid account. Users report cost concerns for larger or part-time teams, implementation effort, slow email loading and heavy notifications.
03
TaxDome
Best for tax and bookkeeping firms wanting client intake, document exchange, communication, proposals and payment collection together.
4.7 ★ · 3,626
PricingFrom $700/year with a three-year commitment
October 11, 2026 annual seat rates for one/two/three-year commitments: Essentials $800/$750/$700; Pro $1,000/$950/$900; Business $1,200/$1,150/$1,100. The selected term is billed upfront; Essentials is solo only.
Strengths
+Essentials includes unlimited CRM contacts, custom client fields, document storage and standard signatures, plus workflow templates, automations, intake forms, a client portal, integrated communication, proposals and payment collection.
+Pro adds Bookkeeping Hub with 120 general-ledger connections and no per-client fees, IRS transcripts, team roles and permissions. Business provides unlimited ledger connections and Client Care for client platform questions.
+Separate staff and client mobile apps support communication and document handling. QuickBooks Online synchronizes invoices and payments; tax-program connections use a desktop printing/document-transfer route rather than full tax-data synchronization.
Watch for
–Multiyear rates require paying the full selected term upfront. Installments are available for invoices exceeding $9,000. Adding staff to Essentials requires Pro; unlimited seats means unlimited individually paid seats.
04
Zoho CRM
Best for owners needing customizable prospect tracking, multiple sales pipelines and connections to other business applications.
4.3 ★ · 7,003
PricingFrom Free for 3 users
Official USD comparison: Free for three users; Standard $14/user/month annually or $20 monthly; Professional $23/$35; Enterprise $40/$50; Ultimate $52/$65. Local taxes are extra; the live pricing rendering localized to INR.
Strengths
+Free includes contact management, follow-up reminders, tasks, meetings, calls, standard reports and mobile apps. Its published limits include 10 custom email templates and 5,000 API calls per day.
+Standard adds email integration, multiple pipelines, lead-capture forms and forecasting. Professional adds process management, inventory functions, customer portals and unlimited reports; Enterprise adds approvals and field-level encryption.
+Zoho Finance Suite connects Books, Invoice, Expense and Subscription. The pricing page lists QuickBooks for Enterprise; Gmail, Outlook, calendars and collaboration integrations support prospect communication.
Watch for
–A customizable sales CRM does not establish accounting practice workflows. Check how signed engagements become recurring jobs and document requests before treating sales automation as a delivery system.
05
Canopy
Best for accounting firms seeking client records, documents, recurring tasks and billing, with additional capacity and reporting controls.
4.5 ★ · 286
PricingFrom $74/user/month billed annually
October 11, 2026 annual billing: Standard $74/user/month; Plus $109; Premium $149, marked Coming Soon. Enterprise pricing is not disclosed. Monthly billing is offered, but its rates are not disclosed.
Strengths
+Standard combines CRM, document management, eSign, secure client messaging, portal access, recurring workflows, invoicing and payments. The core suite also includes core AI.
+Plus adds user roles and access controls, capacity planning and forecasting, advanced task views and custom reporting. Practitioner and client mobile apps support document handling, tasks and communication.
+QuickBooks Online connects clients, primary contacts and service items; invoices, categories, classes, locations, payments and credits flow from Canopy to QBO. Gmail and Outlook connections support turning email into tasks.
Watch for
–Premium is marked Coming Soon, so its advertised advanced automation and billing should not drive an immediate purchase. Extra intake capacity is described without a numerical allowance.
06
Pipedrive
Best for owners whose main requirement is tracking inquiries, deals, next actions and the handoff from a sale.
4.5 ★ · 3,063
PricingFrom $14/seat/month billed annually
October 11, 2026 annual billing: Lite $14/seat/month; Growth $39; Premium $59; Ultimate $79. Monthly-billed rates are not disclosed. A 14-day full-access trial requires no credit card.
Strengths
+Lite includes leads, contacts, deals, calendar and pipeline management, imports and AI report creation. Growth adds full email synchronization, workflow automation, nurturing sequences and a meeting scheduler.
+Premium includes LeadBooster, routing, shared inboxes, quotes, proposals, contracts and e-signatures. Ultimate adds security alerts, password rules, access restrictions and a sandbox.
+QuickBooks creates invoices from deals; Xero converts deals to invoices and tracks payment status. Asana and Trello support project handoff, while Android and iOS apps work offline and synchronize after reconnection.
Watch for
–The pipeline and project connections do not establish tax organizers, recurring accounting work or accounting client-document workflows. Test the handoff into the system that actually delivers engagements.
07
Financial Cents
Best for solo accountants and accounting teams prioritizing recurring work, client requests and engagement-to-work connections.
4.8 ★ · 272
PricingFrom $19/month billed annually
October 11, 2026: Solo $19/month annually; Team $49/user/month annually or $69 monthly; Scale $69 annually or $89 monthly; Enterprise pricing not disclosed. Every plan has a 12-month agreement; monthly Team/Scale requires five users.
Strengths
+Solo includes workflow automation, client tasks and requests, portal, secure files, CRM, time tracking, billing, proposals, engagement letters and standard signatures. It supports one user and includes QuickBooks Online.
+Team adds integrated email and unlimited tags, client groups and custom fields. Scale adds automatic follow-ups, dependencies, shared inbox, branded portal, profitability reports and connected document storage.
+Ignition can create a client and work when a proposal is signed. Scale supports two-way Google Drive and OneDrive synchronization; the Month-End Close add-on costs $5/client/month annually and syncs corrections to QBO.
Watch for
–Monthly billing still carries a 12-month agreement. Five-user monthly minimums make Team at least $345/month and Scale $445/month; adding users to Solo requires upgrading.
08
Freshsales
Best for owners wanting sales follow-ups with built-in email, phone and chat at a low paid annual starting rate.
4.5 ★ · 623
PricingFrom $0 for up to three users
September 26, 2026 annual billing: Growth $9/user/month; Pro $39; Enterprise $59. A separate comparison lists Free $0 for three users. June 13, 2025 monthly rates are $11/$47/$71; current monthly checkout rates are not established.
Strengths
+Growth includes Kanban view, contact lifecycle stages, email, phone, chat, templates, custom fields and basic workflows. Pro adds contact scoring, deal insights, territory management and sales sequences.
+Enterprise adds forecasting insights, field-level permissions, custom modules, sandbox and audit logs. A 21-day trial provides the fully loaded CRM; paid accounts receive 500 trial AI agent sessions once.
+QuickBooks provides invoice and payment visibility; Xero invoice visibility flows one way into Freshsales. Google Calendar meetings synchronize both ways, and mobile apps support contacts, activities and offline access.
Watch for
–The main pricing page shows paid plans and says trial accounts are suspended without a paid selection, while the separate comparison lists Free. Confirm the intended account path before relying on ongoing free use.
Side by side
What each one actually includes
HubSpot CRM
Primary job
Prospects, sales and communication
Lowest published entry and commitment
$0; two users, 1,000 contacts
Recurring accounting delivery
Accounting job workflow not established
Client documents and signatures
Document sharing and sales quotes; tax-signature suitability needs separate verification
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO bidirectional records; payments across multiple invoices do not sync
Karbon
Primary job
Accounting practice management
Lowest published entry and commitment
$59/user/month annually; monthly requires four users
Recurring accounting delivery
Templates and assigned work; Business adds automatic reminders
Client documents and signatures
Client portal and documents; signature credits purchased separately
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO two-way contacts/payments; invoices flow from Karbon
TaxDome
Primary job
Tax and bookkeeping practice management
Lowest published entry and commitment
$700/year, three-year commitment; solo Essentials
Recurring accounting delivery
Templates, automation, intake and client requests
Client documents and signatures
Unlimited storage and standard signatures; KBA charged separately
Standard includes recurring workflows; Plus adds capacity planning
Client documents and signatures
Portal, documents and eSign; KBA $1.25/credit
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO financial records flow from Canopy; client/contact connections also supported
Pipedrive
Primary job
Deals and sales follow-ups
Lowest published entry and commitment
$14/seat/month annually
Recurring accounting delivery
Project handoff integrations; accounting recurrence not established
Client documents and signatures
Premium contracts and e-signatures; tax suitability needs verification
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO invoices from deals; Xero invoice and payment-status connection
Financial Cents
Primary job
Accounting practice management
Lowest published entry and commitment
$19/month annually, one user; 12-month agreement
Recurring accounting delivery
Workflow and requests; Scale adds automatic follow-ups
Client documents and signatures
Portal, unlimited file storage and signatures; KBA costs extra
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO clients/time; Ignition can create work after signature
Freshsales
Primary job
Sales communication and follow-ups
Lowest published entry and commitment
Separate comparison lists Free for three users
Recurring accounting delivery
Accounting delivery workflow not established
Client documents and signatures
Branded documents $19/user/month; tax suitability not established
Accounting connection and practical limit
QBO invoice/payment visibility; Xero invoices flow into CRM
Primary job
Lowest published entry and commitment
Recurring accounting delivery
Client documents and signatures
Accounting connection and practical limit
HubSpot CRM
Prospects, sales and communication
$0; two users, 1,000 contacts
Accounting job workflow not established
Document sharing and sales quotes; tax-signature suitability needs separate verification
QBO bidirectional records; payments across multiple invoices do not sync
Karbon
Accounting practice management
$59/user/month annually; monthly requires four users
Templates and assigned work; Business adds automatic reminders
Client portal and documents; signature credits purchased separately
QBO two-way contacts/payments; invoices flow from Karbon
TaxDome
Tax and bookkeeping practice management
$700/year, three-year commitment; solo Essentials
Templates, automation, intake and client requests
Unlimited storage and standard signatures; KBA charged separately
Method
How we compared
01
We separated prospect management before engagement acceptance from accounting work, documents and billing afterward.
02
We compared vendor plan prices, billing commitments, seat minimums, seasonal access and consequential extra charges.
03
We checked whether integration descriptions specify data objects, synchronization direction and document transfer rather than relying on application names.
04
We considered review ratings alongside implementation effort, usability complaints and the limits of topic-specific review percentages.
05
We assessed client exchange, permissions and signatures against U.S. tax-security requirements without treating a general feature label as proof of compliance.
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
Choose a sales CRM when inquiries, referral tracking and follow-ups are the problem; choose accounting practice management when recurring jobs, document requests and deadlines are the problem. HubSpot CRM and Zoho CRM offer ongoing free entry points with different user limits. Pipedrive places full email synchronization in Growth, while Freshsales starts paid annual billing at $9/user/month. For accounting delivery, compare Financial Cents' annual agreement, Karbon's automation tier, TaxDome's upfront commitments and Canopy's add-ons against your actual staffing and workload.
Who should choose what
Free prospect management
HubSpot CRM
Choose HubSpot if two users and 1,000 contacts cover your needs and you want forms, meetings and follow-ups together. Zoho is the better fit for a three-user free account. Neither choice establishes recurring accounting delivery.
Choose Solo for client requests, recurring work, proposals and billing at $19/month billed annually. Accept the 12-month agreement and one-user restriction; a sales CRM is a better fit when prospect follow-up is the main job.
Choose Karbon for integrated email and assigned accounting work. Budget for Business when automatic reminders and task automation matter, and check signature credits. Financial Cents offers a lower annual Team rate for firms prioritizing subscription cost.
Choose TaxDome for organizers, document exchange, client communication and payment collection. Check upfront terms and seasonal seats. Canopy is another fit when capacity planning, reporting and separately priced tax automation are central to the decision.
What is the difference between accountant CRM and practice management?
Sales CRM tracks inquiries, relationships, follow-ups and deals. Accounting practice management connects client records to recurring jobs, documents, deadlines and billing. HubSpot, Zoho, Pipedrive and Freshsales principally serve the first job; Karbon, TaxDome, Canopy and Financial Cents combine records with accounting delivery.
Which accountant CRM options are free?
HubSpot CRM is free for two users and 1,000 contacts. Zoho CRM is free for three users. A separate Freshsales comparison lists Free for three users, while its main pricing page shows paid plans and trial suspension terms; confirm the account path.
Does monthly billing mean I can cancel every month?
Financial Cents requires a 12-month agreement on every plan, including monthly billing, and five users for monthly Team or Scale. Karbon monthly plans require four users. TaxDome publishes annual core rates and bills the full selected commitment upfront.
Does a QuickBooks or tax-software integration synchronize everything?
No. Karbon invoices flow to QBO while contacts and payments synchronize both ways. Freshsales receives Xero invoice visibility one way. TaxDome tax-program connections transfer printed documents. Verify the objects, direction and triggers your firm needs rather than assuming full ledger or tax-field synchronization.
Are included e-signatures enough for tax authorization forms?
An ordinary signature feature does not establish Form 8878/8879 suitability. IRS requirements include identity verification, specified audit evidence and protected retention for three years from the later relevant date. KBA can incur separate charges; failed KBA after three attempts requires a handwritten signature.
How should I interpret ratings and adoption percentages?
Ratings cover entire platform reviewer populations, rather than only U.S. accounting owners. Review counts can differ between pages. CPAFMA percentages describe specific respondent groups and software categories; Intuit's 95% figure measures broad automation adoption. Neither establishes national accountant CRM market share.
–Signature requests consume purchased credits: 100 credits cost $100, with one credit per ordinary request and two for KBA. Proposals and engagement letters through Karbon Engagements consume no signature credits.
–Payment processing and optional reporting or training can add cost. Standard Visa/Mastercard processing is 2.6% + $0.30; ACH is 1% + $0.30, capped at $5. Optional service prices require a quote.
–Pro temporary seats cost $100/seat/month. Business seasonal seats cost $500 for four months, initially for new Business clients, with renewal conditions. Compare these terms against actual busy-season access needs.
–Users report a learning curve and file-management limitations. Standard signatures exclude KBA charges of $1 per signer attempt per document; SMS also has registration, monthly and per-message fees.
–Storage allowances and record ceilings vary by edition. Additional file storage costs $4.60/month per 5 GB; additional data storage costs $4 per 100 MB/month. A record allowance is not a specific contact cap.
–Users report bugs, performance issues and weak support experiences. Classic support is included with paid editions; optional support tiers have different hours and response targets, with Enterprise support requiring 50 licenses.
–Tax Workflow Automation starts at $34/credit/client annually; Close Automation costs $10/connected client/month annually, with five connections included. Tax Resolution is $50/user/month annually; the included-access boundary needs clarification.
–KBA costs $1.25/credit; cards cost 3.30% + $0.20 and ACH 1%, capped at $10. One accounting office manager reported difficulty combining signatures and billing, but that individual experience does not establish prevalence.
–Full email synchronization starts at Growth rather than Lite. Add-ons have published starting amounts, but their billing cadence, purchase basis and included quantities need confirmation before calculating total cost.
–Users report limited advanced reporting, cumbersome search and integration gaps. Negative sentiment figures of 40% for reporting and 36% for search concern topic-specific review subsets, rather than all users.
–Solo has a five work-tag/status limit. Automatic client-task follow-ups, task dependencies and several storage connections require Scale, so compare the needed workflow against that tier's cost.
–Users report limited management reporting, document integration gaps and time-entry friction. One operations review reported apparent QuickBooks double billing; it is an individual account, not evidence of defect frequency.
–Branded documents cost $19/user/month and Freddy AI Agent $49 per 100 sessions. These extras can change the cost of a plan selected primarily for its $9 annual rate.
–Users report glitches and billing or cancellation problems. Negative sentiment of 73% for bugs and 69% for account/billing concerns applies to small topic subsets, rather than the overall customer population.