Best CRM for accountants: eight platforms compared
October 2026: compare 8 CRMs for accountants, including free sales tools, client portals, recurring workflows and subscription costs.
For owners of independent local service businesses in the United States, especially accounting, bookkeeping and tax practices choosing software for sales or client delivery.
Choose around the work your practice needs to improve. Financial Cents offers a solo entry plan with accounting delivery tools; TaxDome emphasizes intake, documents and client administration; Karbon connects team email and work. Canopy adds capacity and reporting depth through Plus. For business development, HubSpot offers a limited free account, Pipedrive provides staged sales tools, and Zoho offers configurable editions. Salesforce suits firms able to support configuration and training. Compare an actual engagement and a seasonal staffing plan before buying: annual agreements, upfront terms, integration gates and signature costs can change the decision.
Accounting practices seeking a core client suite with capacity planning, reporting and optional tax tools.
4.5 ★286 reviews
$74/user/month billed annually
The best CRM for accountants depends on where work gets stuck: winning clients or delivering their engagements. HubSpot CRM, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive and Salesforce primarily support prospect tracking and business development. Karbon, TaxDome, Financial Cents and Canopy connect client records with accounting work, documents, billing and deadlines. For an independent US practice, that distinction matters more than choosing the platform with the largest review count.
Choose a sales CRM if inquiries, referrals and follow-ups need attention while your existing delivery systems work well. Choose an accounting practice platform if recurring jobs, document requests, review handoffs and client communication need one connected system. Compare billing commitments, seasonal seats, integration details and implementation effort before committing.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
HubSpot CRM
Best for owners who need inquiry tracking, contact history, meetings and deal pipelines before adding deeper accounting workflows.
4.5 ★ · 4,491
PricingFrom $0
October 12, 2026 CRM page: Free $0; Starter starts at $15/seat/month; Professional $50; Enterprise $75. Starter's advertised discount is for new customers and may end. Separate Sales Hub pricing displays Starter $7, Professional $90 and Enterprise $150; these are different packaging snapshots. Billing commitments, onboarding and additional charges require confirmation.
Strengths
+Free includes contact management, deal pipelines, tasks, communication history, dashboards, meeting scheduling and document sharing. Its account does not expire, making it an option for an owner testing a sales process before purchasing seats.
+The official QuickBooks Online connection synchronizes invoices, contacts/customers and products bidirectionally, with payment updates. It requires an eligible QuickBooks subscription; custom field mappings require Operations Hub Starter or above.
+Gmail, Outlook, calendars, WordPress, Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Docusign connections support lead capture and client meetings. The mobile app supports CRM record updates, calls and the conversations inbox on iOS and Android.
Watch for
–Free is limited to two users and 1,000 contacts. Higher tiers gate capabilities such as custom reporting, custom objects, single sign-on and field-level permissions; free access does not establish unlimited paid-plan allowances.
–Reviewers report rising costs, training needs and workflow complexity. It primarily addresses sales rather than recurring accounting delivery, so assess how a won engagement reaches your existing work and document systems.
Best for accounting teams that need shared email, recurring work and collaboration connected to client records.
4.7 ★ · 208
PricingFrom $59/user/month paid annually
October 2026: Team $59/user/month annually or $79 monthly; Business $89 annually or $99 monthly; Enterprise custom, price not disclosed. Monthly subscriptions require four or more users. Signature credits and payment processing cost extra; implementation and several add-on prices are not disclosed.
Strengths
+Team includes integrated email, collaboration, workflow, time tracking, budget reporting, billing, payments and engagements. All plans include client management, a portal and document management, allowing teams to connect correspondence with delivery work.
+Business adds automatic client reminders, task automation and industry integrations. Its unlimited contacts and higher template allowances suit practices whose recurring services exceed Team's smaller configuration limits.
+The directory includes QuickBooks Online Accountant, Xero, ProConnect and document repositories. QuickBooks supports two-way contact and payment synchronization, with one-way invoice synchronization from Karbon; companion apps support email triage and delegation.
Watch for
–
03
TaxDome
Best for tax and bookkeeping practices seeking client intake, documents, communication and payment collection in one practice platform.
4.7 ★ · 3,626
PricingFrom $700/year per seat with a three-year commitment
October 2026 annual seat rates for one-/two-/three-year commitments: Essentials $800/$750/$700; Pro $1,000/$950/$900; Business $1,200/$1,150/$1,100. The selected term is billed upfront. Essentials supports one user only. Core monthly pricing is not disclosed; temporary and seasonal seats have separate terms.
Strengths
+Essentials includes unlimited contacts, custom client fields, document storage and standard e-signatures, plus a client portal, mobile app, intake forms, workflow templates, email, secure chat, proposals and payment collection.
+Pro includes Bookkeeping Hub with 120 general-ledger connections, IRS transcripts, team roles and AI-powered reporting. Business expands ledger connections and team-chat history to unlimited and adds client-import assistance and Client Care.
+Separate client and firm mobile apps support document uploads, signatures, messages and CRM access. Pro temporary seats cost $100/seat/month; Business seasonal seats cost $500 for four months, subject to renewal and eligibility conditions.
Watch for
04
Zoho CRM
Best for owners seeking configurable sales tracking with a free small-team edition and several paid automation tiers.
4.3 ★ · 7,003
PricingFrom Free for 3 users
Free supports three users. The October 2026 USD calculator displays Standard $14, Professional $23, Enterprise $40 and Ultimate $52/user/month. Zoho's comparison documents identify these as annual rates; an October 2023 document lists monthly rates of $20/$35/$50/$65. Confirm current monthly rates before purchasing; local taxes are additional.
Strengths
+Free includes contact management, reminders, tasks, meetings, calls, standard reports and mobile access. It permits 10 custom email templates and 5,000 API calls daily, giving a small team defined allowances for basic prospect management.
+Standard adds email integration, multiple pipelines, calendar connections, lead forms and forecasting. Professional adds process and inventory management, unlimited reports, customer portals and Google Ads integration for more involved sales administration.
+Zoho documents QuickBooks synchronization, while its pricing page lists QuickBooks under Enterprise. Zoho Books integration requires Professional or above; verify the edition and data exchanged for your accounting setup.
Watch for
05
Pipedrive
Best for practices that want inquiry follow-ups, deal stages and sales-to-engagement handoffs organized around a sales pipeline.
4.5 ★ · 3,063
PricingFrom $14/seat/month billed annually
October 2026 annual billing: Lite $14, Growth $39, Premium $59 and Ultimate $79/seat/month. Monthly-billed prices are not disclosed in the pricing capture. A 14-day full-access trial requires no credit card. Optional add-ons have separate starting fees with billing details requiring confirmation.
Strengths
+Lite includes leads, calendars, pipelines, deals, contacts and imports. Growth adds email synchronization, bulk email, tracking, workflow automation, nurturing sequences, revenue forecasts and a meeting scheduler for consistent prospect follow-up.
+Premium includes LeadBooster, routing, shared inboxes, quotes, proposals, contracts and e-signatures. It also adds required fields, custom-data reporting and permissions, which can support more structured sales administration.
+The QuickBooks Online integration creates invoices from deals and returns paid or overdue status. Mobile apps work offline and synchronize after reconnection; Xero, document-signing and project connections support handoffs to other systems.
Watch for
–
06
Salesforce
Best for firms prepared to invest in CRM configuration, training and integrations for more complex sales operations.
4.4 ★ · 18,812
PricingFrom $0
October 2026 Sales pricing: Free Suite $0; Starter Suite $25/user/month, monthly or annually; Pro Suite $100, Core $195, Advanced $395 and Max $550, billed annually. These are Sales offerings. Agentforce add-ons cost $125/user/month separately; Foundations' $0 price is not an underlying CRM subscription quote.
Strengths
+The Sales lineup offers free entry and progressively priced editions for firms evaluating a broader sales system. Salesforce documents integrations with QuickBooks, DocuSign, Mailchimp, Google Workspace, Slack and Dropbox.
+Gmail and Outlook integrations display relevant CRM records and associate emails with them. The mobile app supports CRM updates, reports, lists, tasks, events and workflow notifications for staff away from their desks.
+MuleSoft supports integration, automation and API management. Firms needing professional-service delivery can evaluate separate Salesforce-native applications, while budgeting their licenses and implementation independently from the core Sales subscription.
Watch for
–
07
Financial Cents
Best for solo accountants and small teams connecting recurring work, client requests, documents and billing.
4.8 ★ · 272
PricingFrom $19/month billed annually
October 2026: Solo $19/month annually; Team $49/user/month annually or $69 monthly; Scale $69 annually or $89 monthly; Enterprise custom, price not disclosed. Every plan has a 12-month agreement. Monthly Team/Scale billing requires five users. Month-End Close adds $5/client/month annually; a 14-day trial is available.
Strengths
+Solo includes CRM, workflow automation, client requests, a portal, secure files, time tracking, billing, proposals, engagements and standard e-signatures. QuickBooks Online is included in Solo on the pricing page despite the directory labeling it Team.
+Team adds integrated email and unlimited tags, client groups and custom fields. Scale adds automatic client follow-ups, task dependencies, a shared inbox, profitability reports and a branded portal for more coordinated delivery.
+Scale includes document repositories, Zapier and an open API. QuickBooks imports clients, links employees and syncs time logs; tax connections through Google Drive provide document access rather than established tax-return data synchronization.
Watch for
08
Canopy
Best for accounting practices seeking a core client suite with capacity planning, reporting and optional tax tools.
4.5 ★ · 286
PricingFrom $74/user/month billed annually
October 2026 annually billed rates: Standard $74, Plus $109 and Premium $149/user/month; Premium is marked coming soon. Enterprise price not disclosed. Tax Workflow Automation starts at $34/credit/client; Tax Resolution costs $50/user/month annually. Monthly subscription figures and the sales-arranged trial duration are not disclosed.
Strengths
+Standard includes client management, documents, eSign, a portal, secure messaging, recurring task workflows, invoicing and payments. The core suite connects client administration with delivery rather than only prospect and deal tracking.
+Plus adds roles and access controls, advanced task views, capacity planning, forecasting and custom reporting. Practitioner and client mobile apps support documents, tasks and communication, with practitioner time tracking, invoices and payments.
+QuickBooks synchronizes clients, primary contacts and service items, with invoices, payments and several accounting categories moving one way from Canopy to QuickBooks. The directory also lists tax systems and IRS transcript connections.
Watch for
Side by side
What each one actually includes
HubSpot CRM
Primary job
Prospects and sales
Entry option and billing
Free; paid CRM tiers available
Accounting connection or workflow
Official QuickBooks Online data sync
Consequential limit
Free: two users, 1,000 contacts
Karbon
Primary job
Accounting collaboration and delivery
Entry option and billing
$59/user/month annually
Accounting connection or workflow
Shared email; QuickBooks and Xero
Consequential limit
Monthly billing: four-user minimum
TaxDome
Primary job
Tax and bookkeeping delivery
Entry option and billing
$700/seat/year, three-year commitment
Accounting connection or workflow
Portal, organizers and ledger connections
Consequential limit
Essentials: one user; term paid upfront
Zoho CRM
Primary job
Configurable sales management
Entry option and billing
Free for three users
Accounting connection or workflow
QuickBooks; Zoho Books edition gate
Consequential limit
Free: 5,000 API calls/day
Pipedrive
Primary job
Pipelines and follow-ups
Entry option and billing
$14/seat/month annually
Accounting connection or workflow
QuickBooks Online invoice creation
Consequential limit
Lite: no automations
Salesforce
Primary job
Sales operations
Entry option and billing
Free Suite; Starter $25/user/month
Accounting connection or workflow
QuickBooks and separate delivery applications
Consequential limit
Pro: five flows per organization
Financial Cents
Primary job
Recurring accounting work
Entry option and billing
Solo $19/month annually
Accounting connection or workflow
QuickBooks, requests and billing
Consequential limit
Monthly Team/Scale: five users, annual agreement
Canopy
Primary job
Accounting client suite
Entry option and billing
$74/user/month annually
Accounting connection or workflow
Portal, recurring tasks and QuickBooks
Consequential limit
Premium marked coming soon
Primary job
Entry option and billing
Accounting connection or workflow
Consequential limit
HubSpot CRM
Prospects and sales
Free; paid CRM tiers available
Official QuickBooks Online data sync
Free: two users, 1,000 contacts
Karbon
Accounting collaboration and delivery
$59/user/month annually
Shared email; QuickBooks and Xero
Monthly billing: four-user minimum
TaxDome
Tax and bookkeeping delivery
$700/seat/year, three-year commitment
Portal, organizers and ledger connections
Essentials: one user; term paid upfront
Zoho CRM
Configurable sales management
Free for three users
QuickBooks; Zoho Books edition gate
Free: 5,000 API calls/day
Pipedrive
Method
How we compared
01
We separated prospect and sales management from recurring accounting delivery, then assessed client records, portals, documents and handoffs.
02
We compared published billing commitments, seat minimums, usage limits, signature charges and add-ons alongside entry prices.
03
We examined integration direction and plan gates, email collaboration, reporting, capacity features, implementation effort and support complaints.
04
We used attributed review samples and considered permissions, security responsibilities and tax-signature requirements without treating a product as a compliance guarantee.
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
Choose around the work your practice needs to improve. Financial Cents offers a solo entry plan with accounting delivery tools; TaxDome emphasizes intake, documents and client administration; Karbon connects team email and work. Canopy adds capacity and reporting depth through Plus. For business development, HubSpot offers a limited free account, Pipedrive provides staged sales tools, and Zoho offers configurable editions. Salesforce suits firms able to support configuration and training. Compare an actual engagement and a seasonal staffing plan before buying: annual agreements, upfront terms, integration gates and signature costs can change the decision.
Who should choose what
Solo accounting delivery
Financial Cents
Solo includes workflow, client requests, billing and QuickBooks at $19/month billed annually, with a single-user restriction.
Do accountants need a sales CRM or practice management?
Use a sales CRM for inquiries, referrals, deal stages and follow-ups. Use practice management for recurring jobs, document requests, review handoffs, billing and deadlines. The better choice depends on which work needs improvement.
Which options have an ongoing free edition?
HubSpot CRM offers two users and 1,000 contacts. Zoho CRM offers three users. Salesforce lists Free Suite. Pipedrive and Financial Cents offer 14-day trials rather than ongoing free editions.
Does monthly billing allow seasonal cancellation?
Financial Cents requires a 12-month agreement even with monthly billing. Karbon monthly plans require four users. TaxDome publishes separate temporary and seasonal seats; its core selected term is paid upfront.
Do included e-signatures cover tax requirements?
Check identity verification, KBA charges and record storage separately. IRS guidance for Forms 8878/8879 requires secure tamper-proof records for three years from the later applicable date and handwritten signatures after three failed KBA attempts.
Are review scores specific to US accounting owners?
No. General CRM samples span industries, and accounting-platform samples differ in size and composition. Ratings describe each platform's published review sample rather than a representative US owner benchmark.
Team permits 1,000 contacts, 40 work templates and 35 work statuses; Business allows 75 templates and 50 statuses. Both have a six-month reporting period. Each staff member needing access requires a paid account.
–Reviewers describe implementation effort, a learning curve, responsiveness issues and per-user expense. Signature requests consume one credit, or two with KBA; proposals and engagement letters through Karbon Engagements consume no signature credits.
Reviewers report substantial organizer and pipeline setup, a learning curve, reporting limitations and bugs after releases. Activity-feed history is seven days on Essentials, 30 on Pro and 365 on Business.
–Included standard signatures do not include KBA, which costs $1 per signer's attempt per document, including failed attempts. SMS, processing and the branded client app add costs; multiyear discounts require upfront payment for the selected term.
Reviewers report complex advanced configuration, interface clutter, lag, bugs and support delays. Workflow depth needs assessment against recurring bookkeeping or tax delivery rather than assuming a configurable sales CRM covers those jobs.
–Storage, records, exports and API usage have limits. Free exports are limited to 10 times; additional file storage is $4.60/month per 5 GB. Different vendor pages display inconsistent pricing details, so confirm currency, edition and billing cadence.
Lite has no automations; Growth allows 50 per company. Reports per user are limited to 15/50/250/500 across the four plans, and custom fields to 30/100/300/500. Contacts have no usage limit.
–Reviewers describe integration gaps requiring manual updates, reporting restrictions and add-on costs. Deal and lead limits depend on seat count; accounting delivery workflows still need assessment alongside the sales pipeline.
Reviewers report a steep learning curve, customization effort, training requirements and add-on expenses. These can make the system a demanding choice for an owner whose main need is straightforward client and deadline tracking.
–Pro includes five flows per organization and lists API access at an additional $25/user/month. Storage varies by edition. Agentforce usage, additional licenses and third-party applications create separate costs; Sales pricing does not establish accounting-practice functionality.
Monthly billing still requires an annual agreement and a five-user minimum. Solo supports one user and limits work tags/statuses to five; adding staff requires upgrading rather than adding Solo seats.
–Reviewers describe management-reporting, integration and file-handling gaps, seat expense and mixed support experiences. Capterra displays 4.8/5 across 270–272 reviews in different pages; the counts differ. KBA costs $1–$2 per verification by package.
Premium's advertised advanced workflow and billing capabilities are coming soon. Standard and Plus include five trial intake/delivery credits; beta AI Notetaker allowances are eight and 12 hours/user/month, respectively.
–Tax tools and transactions add costs: KBA is $1.25/credit, cards 3.30% plus $0.20 and ACH 1%, capped at $10. Reviewers flag missing appointment scheduling and scheduled emails; older reporting complaints do not establish current limitations.