For most independent HVAC shops the decision is less about finding the biggest platform and more about buying the marketing depth you will actually use without paying for an operations suite you will not. Compare the three picks below on how they handle lead-source tagging and review automation first; price second.
Shops that want unlimited users at a flat monthly price
4.3 ★308 reviews
245/mo month-to-month (Starter)
Owners of independent HVAC shops in the United States usually evaluate this category on four things: whether the platform captures leads from every channel with the source tagged automatically, whether marketing basics like two-way SMS, review requests and online booking are included or sold as add-ons, what the software actually costs once setup and usage fees are counted, and how well it syncs to QuickBooks. This page compares eight platforms on published price, plan structure, trial availability, marketing depth and independent ratings, all as captured on 2026-09-24.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
ServiceTitan
Best for residential service companies doing $2M+ with 10+ technicians
4.3 ★ · 341
Pricing
Not disclosed. ServiceTitan's pricing page names three plans — Starter, Essentials and The Works — and lists features for each, but publishes no dollar figures for any of them. Every plan tile ends in "Request Pricing". No free tier is published and no free trial is offered. Third-party buyer guides estimate roughly $245–$500 per technician per month plus $5,000–$50,000+ in one-time implementation fees, with a typical 12-month minimum; those figures are estimates and sources differ on the exact range and on onboarding length.
Strengths
+Marketing automation depth: grouped with Housecall Pro as one of the few platforms in this set that includes real marketing automation rather than only the basics
+Pricebook and sales tools are named as a standout feature in buyer guides
+Dispatch board shows caller identity and ad source, and invoicing tags jobs with lead source so ROI reporting writes itself
Show 2 more strengths
+QuickBooks Online and Desktop integration syncs invoices, payments, purchase orders and customer records
+Marketplace of integrations across accounting, marketing, leads, payments and financing, payroll, fleet/GPS, inventory and dispatch
Watch for
–Quote-only pricing: no plan prices, per-user rates, add-on fee schedule or limits published
–Steep learning curve, with implementation cited at 90+ days in one guide and 6–12 months of onboarding in another
–Described as cost-prohibitive for companies under $1M revenue or fewer than 5 techs; smallest shops may pay $1,000+/month before add-ons
Show 1 more watch for
–Requires a dedicated admin according to one comparison guide
Best for 1–7 truck operations that want booking, review requests and payments in one place
4.7 ★ · 2,742
PricingFrom 59/mo billed annually (Basic)
$59/mo billed annually or $79/mo billed monthly on Basic with 1 user; Essentials $149/mo annual or $189/mo monthly with 5 users; Max $299/mo annual or $329/mo monthly with 8 users and $35/mo per additional user. A fourth custom tier for franchises and multi-location businesses is quote-only. The Sales Proposal Tool is listed at a "$40/mo value" when bundled into Max; other add-ons (CSR AI, Pipeline, Payroll, Voice, Campaigns, Websites) carry no published price. Card processing is listed as low as 2.59% and bank/ACH payments carry a 1% fee. No long-term contract is required.
Strengths
+14-day free trial with no credit card required, giving full Max-plan access; data is retained if the trial lapses
+Review management, online booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoicing, price book, job costing and consumer financing are included in Basic
Best for solo operators up to about 5 trucks that want published pricing and a short trial
4.6 ★ · 1,486
PricingFrom 49/mo month-to-month (Core)
$49/mo month-to-month list price for Core with 1 user; $39/mo with a 1-year commitment billed monthly; $29/mo billed annually. Additional users are $29/mo on every plan. Connect starts at $139/mo month-to-month list for 1 user and steps up by user count; Grow starts at $199/mo; Plus starts at $499/mo with a 5-user minimum. 16+ users and franchise or multi-location accounts are quote-only. Add-ons: Marketing Suite $99/mo, AI Receptionist $29/mo, Sales Pipeline $49/mo — all included on Plus. Card processing 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction, Tap to Pay 2.7% + $0.30, bank payments 1%. A time-limited promotion was live at capture; the figures above are list prices.
Strengths
+14-day free trial with full Grow-plan access and no credit card required
+Core includes online booking, scheduling, quotes, invoicing, online payments, a professional website, reporting and access to 100+ marketplace tools
+Grow adds two-way SMS, job costing and profitability, and a custom workflow automation builder
Show 2 more strengths
+
04
FieldEdge
Best for quickBooks-heavy shops running 5–15 trucks that need service agreements
4.1 ★ · 313
Pricing
Not disclosed. All three plans — Select, Premier, Elite — are marked "Request Pricing", and the vendor states plainly that pricing can vary and directs prospects to book a demo. No monthly or annual figures, no add-on prices and no contract length are published. Third-party figures conflict: one guide's table says $100 per user per month while the same guide's body says $100 per office user plus $125 per tech with $500–$2,000 setup; another guide reports quote-based pricing in the $500–$1,500 per month range. Sources differ; treat all figures as estimates.
Strengths
+Described as the cleanest QuickBooks integration in the market, with both QuickBooks Online and Desktop and a real-time integration partner designation
+Basic Service Agreements on Select and Advanced Service Agreements on Premier
+Integrated SMS texting, lead tracking, automated alerts and reminders on the entry plan
Show 2 more strengths
+Elite bundles MarketingEdge with 2-way texting, Proposal Pro, outbound call recording and a consumer management portal
05
Workiz
Best for dispatch-led shops that want AI call handling and don't need a full operations platform
4.4 ★ · 218
Pricing
Not disclosed. The vendor lists three tiers — Standard, Pro and Ultimate — with no dollar prices, no per-user rates and no published add-on fees for Genius Phone, Genius Answering or Genius Marketing; every plan card routes to "Request pricing" or "Book a demo". Third-party figures conflict and use older plan names: one set of aggregators lists $225–$325/mo for up to 5 users with additional users at $55–$65/mo, while category guides cite roughly $65–$105 per user per month. Sources differ; use the vendor's quote as the reference.
Strengths
+7-day free trial, no credit card required
+Unlimited jobs, invoices, estimates and clients at every tier
+Pro adds Genius leads and Genius scheduling, custom reports and performance pay; Ultimate adds service plans, inventory, flat-rate pricing, checklists, franchise management and API access
Show 2 more strengths
+Named integrations cover Google Reserve, Yelp, Thumbtack, Angi Leads, Google Calendar, QuickBooks Online, CompanyCam, Sunbit and Wisetack financing
06
GoHighLevel
Best for owners who want a marketing and lead-nurture engine paired with a separate field tool
PricingFrom 97/mo (Starter)
$97/mo (Starter, 3 sub-accounts), $297/mo (Unlimited, unlimited sub-accounts), $497/mo (Agency Pro); Enterprise is quote-only. Annual billing is the price of 10 months. Unlimited contacts and users on all plans. Usage charges for SMS, email, inbound and outbound calling and AI features are billed on top and their per-unit rates are not published on the pricing page. Published add-ons include AI Employee at $50/mo or $97/mo per sub-account, online listings management $30/mo per sub-account, SEO $79/mo per sub-account, white label mobile app $497/mo and premium support $500/mo.
Strengths
+14-day free trial on any plan with full access to that tier's features; month-to-month with no long-term contract
+Deepest marketing toolkit in this comparison: website and funnel builder, CRM and pipelines, email and SMS marketing, workflow automation, booking calendars, Ad Manager, online reputation management and prospecting
+Marketing pages add phone connect, voicemail drops, SMS/MMS, Facebook Messenger two-way messaging, lead scoring, estimates and proposals
Show 1 more strengths
+
07
BuildOps
Best for commercial mechanical contractors with roughly 10–200 technicians
4.4 ★ · 177
Pricing
Not disclosed. The pricing page is a custom-quote page with no plan names, prices or user limits published. Third-party estimates conflict badly: one reviewer estimate is roughly $150–$300 per user per month, another cites tiered rates of $50, $45 and $40 per user per month by volume. Sources differ by a factor of three to six and none of the figures appear on the vendor site. No free trial and no free version.
Strengths
+Bidirectional sync with QuickBooks Online and Desktop, Sage Intacct, Vista, Spectrum and NetSuite, so field data flows to the back office without re-entry
+The project module is real rather than bolted on, which suits commercial project work
+Named field-intelligence integrations: Bluon, Inspect Point and ServiceChannel; expense and tax sync with Coast, Miter and Avalara; procurement with Kojo
Show 1 more strengths
+Capterra 4.4/5 from 177 verified reviews, with Customer Service at 4.5
Watch for
08
Service Fusion
Best for shops that want unlimited users at a flat monthly price
4.3 ★ · 308
PricingFrom 245/mo month-to-month (Starter)
$245/mo month-to-month or $208/mo billed annually for Starter; $382/$325 for Plus; $627/$533 for Pro — all with unlimited users, personalized onboarding and unlimited email, phone and live-chat support. Annual billing saves 15% and is charged as one payment at sign-up. ServiceCall.ai and GPS Fleet Tracking are add-ons on every plan at fees that are not published. One older guide lists $192/mo flat; the vendor's own page shows $245/mo month to month, so the vendor figure is used here.
Strengths
+Unlimited users at a fixed price, with no published customer or contact cap
+Starter includes customer management, estimates and jobs, scheduling and dispatch, payments, QuickBooks integration, invoicing, project management, reporting and text alerts
+Pro adds an open API, custom and eSign documents, a customer portal and progress billing and recurring invoicing
Show 2 more strengths
+Partner stack covers flat-rate pricing (Profit Rhino), HVAC manufacturer leads (Dispatch), LSA lead entry and replies (LSArespond), reviews (pulseM) and remote video quoting (LiveSwitch)
Service-agreement and preventive-maintenance depth, including member renewal tracking
06
Pricebook and flat-rate selling at the point of sale
07
QuickBooks integration quality and what actually syncs
08
Local SEO and website capability
09
Implementation time, training burden and setup fees
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
For most independent HVAC shops the decision is less about finding the biggest platform and more about buying the marketing depth you will actually use without paying for an operations suite you will not. Compare the three picks below on how they handle lead-source tagging and review automation first; price second.
Who should choose what
Best fit for 1–7 trucks
Housecall Pro
Published pricing from $59/mo billed annually, a 14-day trial with full Max access and no credit card, review management and online booking in the entry plan, and named lead integrations for Google Local Services, Angi, Thumbtack and Yelp. The limits to accept in exchange are capped reporting depth, service agreements on higher tiers and Zapier or API access gated to Max.
The lowest published list price in this comparison at $49/mo month to month, dropping to $29/mo billed annually, with two-way SMS and job costing arriving on Grow. Marketing automation is a $99/mo add-on outside Plus, and service-agreement tooling is lighter than purpose-built HVAC platforms.
The only platform besides Housecall Pro credited with real marketing automation, plus the strongest pricebook and sales tooling and lead source carried through dispatch and invoicing to revenue. Pricing is not disclosed, third-party estimates run $245–$500 per technician per month plus $5,000–$50,000 in setup, and implementation runs from 90 days to 6–12 months depending on the source.
At $97/mo it is the cheapest way to get a funnel builder, CRM pipelines, email and SMS campaigns and reputation management, but it has no dispatch, pricebook or technician tracking and no published QuickBooks integration. Pair it with a field tool rather than replacing one.
What should HVAC marketing software measure every week?
Three numbers, per owners' guides: cost-per-booked-call by source, booked-call-to-run-call conversion, and revenue-per-run-call. Getting there requires job records that carry the lead source through to revenue so the weekly report writes itself, a dispatch board that shows who called and which ad they came from, and invoicing that tags each job with its lead source.
Which platforms publish actual prices?
Four of the eight: Housecall Pro ($59/mo billed annually on Basic), Jobber ($49/mo month-to-month on Core), GoHighLevel ($97/mo on Starter) and Service Fusion ($245/mo month-to-month on Starter). ServiceTitan, FieldEdge, Workiz and BuildOps publish plan names but no dollar figures and require a sales conversation. Where third-party estimates exist for those four, they conflict and are noted as estimates.
How much marketing automation is actually included?
Two-way SMS, email confirmations, online booking and review request automation are the baseline that most platforms ship. Only ServiceTitan and Housecall Pro are credited with real marketing automation out of the box. On Jobber the Marketing Suite is $99/mo unless you are on Plus; on Workiz, Genius Marketing is sold separately at an unpublished price; on FieldEdge, MarketingEdge is Elite-only or an add-on.
What integrations matter most for a small HVAC shop?
Four connections: QuickBooks Online or Desktop, payments and financing such as Wisetack, GreenSky or Stripe Connect, review automation such as Podium or Birdeye, and call tracking such as CallRail or DialPad to attribute marketing-driven calls to the right channel. Lead capture should ingest web forms, LSA messages, Facebook lead ads and phone with the source tagged automatically.
Do any of these platforms handle HVAC regulatory requirements?
Not disclosed. EPA Section 608 refrigerant handling and recordkeeping, refrigerant transition rules, contractor licensing, permit and inspection workflows, SEER2 and AFUE efficiency compliance, AHRI certification and warranty registration are not addressed by the guides or vendor pages summarized here. Ask each vendor directly about compliance records before you sign.
How reliable are the ratings on this page?
Capterra and Trustpilot figures were read directly and are dated 2026-09-24. G2 pages could not be fetched directly, so those figures come from search snapshots and vary by capture date — for example ServiceTitan G2 is reported at both 4.4/656 and 4.4/353, and Housecall Pro at 4.3/201 and 4.4/202. Mobile app store ratings vary further across multiple app listings and are not used in the scores here.
Named integrations cover lead channels directly: Google Local Services, Angi, Thumbtack and Yelp, plus Mailchimp, CallRail, Podium and CallRail-style call attribution
+Capterra rating of 4.7/5 is the highest in this comparison, and the vendor's own footer states 4.7 from 2,700+ reviews on Capterra
Watch for
–Reporting depth caps out below ServiceTitan; granular tech P&L is a stated limit
–Service agreements and the sales proposal tool sit behind higher tiers; HVAC features are locked to upper tiers in guides
–Zapier and open API access are gated to the Max plan
Show 2 more watch for
–Marketing is described as basic by comparison guides, and there is no native GoHighLevel integration without Zapier or third-party connectors
–Trustpilot scores are much lower than Capterra's and two snapshots of the same page gave 2.4/5 from 642 reviews and 2.9/5 from 579 reviews
Plus bundles Marketing Suite, AI Receptionist and Sales Pipeline, plus unlimited white-glove onboarding and API access
+QuickBooks Online sync on Connect and above, native Xero and Gusto sync, and Home Depot live pricing embedded in quoting
Watch for
–Marketing automation is an add-on rather than part of base plans
–Service agreement and recurring maintenance features are lighter than purpose-built HVAC tools, and the pricebook is lighter than Housecall Pro or ServiceTitan
–No built-in local SEO tools noted by comparison guides
Show 1 more watch for
–Rapid price escalation by user count: the same Connect feature set ranges from $139/mo for 1 user to $399/mo for 15 users at list
+All plans include an onboarding specialist and access to the Field Services Academy
Watch for
–No free trial: the vendor states it prefers guided onboarding instead
–Marketing and local SEO have no presence on their own; MarketingEdge is Elite-only or a paid add-on on Select and Premier
–The mobile app is functional but less polished than ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro, and the UI is described as less modern than Jobber or Housecall Pro
Show 2 more watch for
–Only mobile-app licenses are limited by tier (2 on Select, 4 on Premier, 6 on Elite); customer, job and office-user caps are not published
–Trustpilot shows 1.4/5 from 46 reviews, the lowest score in this comparison