Comparison · Flashcrafter Vs Ai Receptionists
AI Receptionists for Local Service Businesses: FlashCrafter vs Smith.ai, Ruby and Goodcall
Live-agent, hybrid and AI-only call answering compared on published prices, field-service integrations, contract terms and independent reviews, as of October 1, 2026.
Owners of independent local service businesses in the United States, such as HVAC, plumbing, roofing, auto repair, dental and legal practices, deciding how to stop missing calls.

- Vendors compared
- 4
- Published entry prices
- $0–$250
- Avg rating, 3 rated
- 3.8 ★
- Criteria checked
- 9
These four options solve the missed-call problem in different ways. Ruby is a live human receptionist service billed by the minute. Smith.ai sells live agents billed by the call and, separately, an AI receptionist. Goodcall is AI only, billed per agent per month by the number of unique customers who speak to it. FlashCrafter is not a standalone answering service: it is a done-for-you growth platform (website, CRM, local SEO and a set of AI agents) in which a Voice Answering Service AI answers missed calls and captures the request.
Price is hard to compare because each vendor counts something different: calls, minutes or unique customers. Published entry prices run from $79 a month per agent for Goodcall's Starter plan, to $250 for Ruby's 50 minutes, to $300 for Smith.ai's 30 live-agent calls. Smith.ai also has an AI tier that starts at $0 for 25 calls. FlashCrafter publishes no price. Reviewers of Smith.ai, Ruby and Goodcall all describe billing surprises, so the headline plan price is a floor, not a forecast.
Choose Ruby if you want live people answering and prefer minutes-based plans with a 21-day money-back window. Choose Smith.ai if you want live agents or a pay-per-call AI tier and use Housecall Pro or ServiceTitan, which Smith.ai documents integrations for. Choose Goodcall if you want the lowest published monthly price and are comfortable with an AI-only agent. Choose FlashCrafter if you want a new website, CRM and local SEO along with call answering from one provider, and you are willing to evaluate a vendor with no published price and no independent reviews. If you only need someone or something to pick up the phone, one of the other three is the more direct fit. If you already answer nearly every call, measure your own missed calls before paying for any of them: the commonly quoted missed-call statistics are published mostly by vendors and are unaudited.
Shortlist
4 options, ranked
- 01
FlashCrafter
Best for owners who want a website, CRM, local SEO and AI agents (including a voice agent) from one done-for-you provider, rather than a standalone answering service.
Pricing FlashCrafter describes its pricing only as a quality-focused growth plan; no price is published
Strengths
- +FlashCrafter states it offers no contracts, cancel anytime, and that you can export your website and take it with you (not independently verified).
- +FlashCrafter states setup is done for you, with site, CRM, Google Business Profile and tracking launched in days (not independently verified).
- +The package includes a GoHighLevel CRM, local SEO, Google Ads management and a single reporting dashboard, per FlashCrafter.
- +The Voice Answering Service AI answers missed calls and captures the request; the Lead Finder AI qualifies inbound leads from forms, calls and messages; the Booking Assistant AI books and confirms appointments from web, SMS and chat.
- +FlashCrafter states it works with one client per trade per city and offers 24/7 human support.
Watch for
Side by side
What each one actually includes
| Service model | Lowest published price | What you are billed on | Contract and cancellation | Trial or guarantee | Field-service integrations named by vendor | HIPAA | Spanish or bilingual | Trustpilot rating | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FlashCrafter | Growth platform with AI agents, including a Voice Answering Service AI that answers missed calls and captures the request | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | FlashCrafter states no contracts, cancel anytime, website exportable (not independently verified) | Free Growth Brief before any commitment | Not established | Not established | Not established | None found |
Method
How we compared
- 01
Published prices were taken from each vendor's own pricing page on October 1, 2026, and third-party prices that differ are noted rather than used.
- 02
Billing units (calls, minutes, unique customers) were compared because they decide what a busy month costs.
- 03
Add-on fees, overage rates and cancellation terms were checked, since reviewers of all three established vendors report billing surprises.
- 04
Field-service software support (Jobber, Housecall Pro, ServiceTitan and similar) was checked against vendor integration pages and documentation, with reviewer comments flagged as such.
- 05
Independent ratings were taken from Trustpilot with review counts, and small sample sizes are called out.
Verdict
Pick by how you want calls answered. If you want live people, choose Ruby for minute-based plans and a 21-day refund window, or Smith.ai if your field-service software is Housecall Pro or ServiceTitan. If you want an AI agent at the lowest published price, choose Goodcall, and read the cancellation and billing complaints first. Choose FlashCrafter if you want a website, CRM, local SEO and an AI voice agent from one done-for-you provider and can accept that no price is published, no independent reviews exist and call-handling details are not established. For call answering alone, Smith.ai, Ruby and Goodcall are the more direct and more transparent fits. Whichever you choose, confirm in writing what happens at cancellation and how overage is billed.
Best for live receptionists on a predictable plan
Ruby
Published minute plans from $250/mo, no contract, a 21-day money-back window and the highest Trustpilot count of the four (4.5 from 852). Overage rates are not published, so ask before signing.
Best for Housecall Pro or ServiceTitan users
Smith.ai
It documents integrations with both, offers a free 25-call AI tier for testing, and sells live agents from $300/mo. Budget for per-call add-ons.
Lowest published price
Goodcall
Plans start at $79 per agent per month with no per-call or per-minute charges. The Trustpilot sample is five one-star reviews, and there are almost no independent reviews elsewhere.
Best if you also need a website, CRM and local SEO
FlashCrafter
Questions
Frequently asked
Keep reading
Related
- Compare
- Flashcrafter Vs Thryv
- Flashcrafter Vs Scorpion
- Flashcrafter Vs Hibu
- Auto Tinting Marketing Software