AutoVitals vs. the alternatives: what independent repair shops actually pay
AutoVitals is a digital inspection and customer-communication layer that sits on top of an existing shop management system. The vendors below are the ones shops evaluate alongside it, with published prices, plan names, and ratings as of 25 September 2026.
Owners of independent auto repair shops in the United States
Pick the product type before the price. If you want inspection photos, digital approvals, and customer marketing layered onto the POS you already run, AutoVitals is the only vendor here built that way, and you will need its POS compatibility confirmed before anything else. If you want repair orders, parts, and inspections in one subscription, the entry prices run from $109 to $279 per month depending on the vendor and billing cycle. Four of the eight publish no independent rating at all, and two publish no entry price.
NAPA Auto Care network members and budget-conscious shops that want an entry price below $150 per month
0.0 ★0 reviews
See note
Shop owners comparing AutoVitals with a general website builder are usually asking two different questions: how do I get more cars booked, and how do I write the repair order once they arrive. AutoVitals answers the first. Tekmetric, AutoLeap, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, Mitchell 1 Manager SE, R.O. Writer, and NAPA TRACS answer the second. This page compares the eight automotive products side by side, using only figures published on vendor pages or named review platforms.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
AutoVitals
Best for shops that already run a point-of-sale system and want digital vehicle inspections, workflow, and customer messaging layered on top of it
4.8 ★ · 0
PricingFrom See note
The main solutions page publishes no prices and directs readers to call (866) 949-2848 for packages and features. Other AutoVitals pages do publish figures, and they do not agree: the demo page says DVI starts at $219 per month, the CRM page says CRM starts at $489 per month, and the ACDelco page lists member pricing of $134 per month for DVI.X and $404 per month for SmartFlow.X plus an unpriced setup fee. AutoVitals is described as quote-based until you talk to sales. Sources differ; treat $134 to $489 per month as the published range.
Strengths
+Inspection package with photos and video is texted to the customer for line-item approval
+CRM bundle includes unlimited two-way texting, automated service reminders, email and text campaigns, review requests, and reputation management
+Onboarding (setup, training, campaign configuration), a dedicated Customer Success Advisor with monthly check-ins, and 24/7 knowledge base access are stated as included
Show 2 more strengths
+Two-way integration with MaxxTraxx, Mitchell1 (Manager SE, ShopKeyPro Manager, TeamWorks), NAPA TRACS, Shop-Ware, Tekmetric, Protractor, and WinWorks
+Free demo, described as 100% free with no obligation to buy
Watch for
–No native repair-order writing and no parts inventory — a separate POS is required
–Some owners report the system running slow or locking up, with outages and updates taking real effort to restore
–A new customer cannot be texted an estimate immediately after being added to the system
Show 2 more watch for
–Limited control over CRM settings and no dedicated tech-support phone line
–One 13-year customer is described as still waiting on a part-confirmation feature
Best for shops that want an all-in-one system with a technician app and multi-location reporting
0.0 ★ · 0
PricingFrom See note
Essentials $179 per month billed annually or $199 billed monthly. Pro $309 annually or $349 monthly. Elite $409 annually or $449 monthly. Enterprise custom pricing. A one-time setup fee applies and its amount is not published.
Strengths
+Every plan includes unlimited repair orders and invoices, VIN and license plate decode, CARFAX vehicle history, deferred jobs tracker, canned jobs, payments, and shop reporting
+Pro adds Magic Parts Lookup, two-way texting, inventory and vendor management, technician app, QBO integration, labor guides and fluid specs
+Elite adds next-generation digital vehicle inspections with certified checklists and auto-generated technician notes, integrated Google Reviews, and a real-time shop dashboard
Show 2 more strengths
+Enterprise supports up to 10,000 locations with central controls and permissions
+
04
Shopmonkey
Best for shops that want repair orders, texting, parts lookup, and mobile technician apps from the entry plan up
4.6 ★ · 270
PricingFrom See note
Basic $239 per month billed monthly or $215 billed annually. Clever $399 monthly or $359 annually. Genius $499 monthly or $449 annually. Multi-Shop custom quote. Included user licenses are 3 on Basic, 4 on Clever, 5 on Genius; each additional license is $20 per month on those three plans.
Strengths
+Basic already includes two-way SMS and email, integrated payments, parts lookup and ordering, mobile apps for techs, CARFAX and RepairLink, unlimited estimates and invoices, API and webhooks, onboarding, and data migration assistance
+Clever adds Digital Vehicle Inspections, time clocks, inventory management, QuickBooks Online, MOTOR Parts and Labor, and ALLDATA
+Genius adds labor guides, diagrams and procedures, tire ordering, audit logs, automated estimate follow-ups, and Google Reviews Manager
Show 2 more strengths
+Shopmonkey for Techs handles VIN and license plate scanning, DVIs with photo and video markup, diagrams, work-order lists, and time clocks
05
Shop-Ware
Best for independent shops and family-owned garages that want parts catalogs, labor guides, and QuickBooks invoice-level sync in the core product
0.0 ★ · 0
PricingFrom See note
Startup $279 per month billed annually. Pro $389. Master $499. Ultimate tier $999. Prices are per location and the published figures are billed-annually rates; month-to-month rates are not published. CRM plus Online Service Scheduler is sold separately at $249 per month. An older license agreement lists $99, $225, or $375 per month by plan plus an $8 per month per user fee, which does not match the current tiers.
Strengths
+Every plan includes unlimited users, AI Parts Matrix, DVX digital vehicle experience, employee calendars and time tracking, basic reporting, inventory management, integrated parts ordering, and maintenance builders
+Pro adds unlimited two-way texting, MOTOR Labor Guide, native parts catalog, OE specs, API connections, batch payments, and the AutoWrite AI writing assistant
+Master adds the business analytics suite, monthly inventory value and gross profit tracking, and coaching dashboards
Show 2 more strengths
+
06
Mitchell 1 Manager SE
Best for shops that want established estimating with on-premise data storage and are willing to assemble add-ons
0.0 ★ · 0
PricingFrom See note
Not disclosed. The main product page publishes no plan names or prices and the order page shows no standalone base Manager SE row. Published lease items are Additional User $15 per month, MessageCenter $39 per month, Accounting Link $69 per month, Truck Edition $204 per month, Truck Edition With Labor $244 per month, and TruckSeries Plus with Manager SE $440 per month, all with $0 activation. Teamworks with Manager SE bundles at $348 per month. A third-party aggregator lists ProDemand $189, Manager SE $249, and a Complete Package $399 per month; the vendor does not confirm those tier names.
Strengths
+Estimate to repair order to invoice in one click, with Job View, Work In Progress screen, and revisions
+Integrated parts and labor estimating, electronic parts catalogs including medium and heavy truck, customer and vehicle history, inventory controls
+180+ integrated reports, technician productivity time management, scheduler and calendar, license plate and VIN decoding
Show 2 more strengths
07
R.O. Writer
Best for independent shops moving off paper and spreadsheets that want unlimited users and two-way texting at the entry tier
3.7 ★ · 9
PricingFrom See note
RO Writer Essentials $199 per month for the first year. RO Writer $299 per month for the first year, for high-volume and multi-location shops. Both figures are first-year promotional rates; the year-two renewal rate is not published. Third-party estimates put setup and training at roughly $1,000 or more, and some listings describe the upper tier as custom-quoted, which contradicts the vendor's published $299.
Strengths
+Essentials includes two-way texting with photos, videos, repair orders and estimates, unlimited users, quotes, ROs and invoices, unlimited customer emails
+Parts ordering from supplier catalogs, inventory management, custom and canned jobs, basic reporting, tire quoting, VIN lookup, appointments calendar
+Dedicated onboarding and priority support on Essentials
Show 2 more strengths
+The upper tier adds integrated payments, advanced reporting and dashboards, service history, multi-location and workflow management, technician and service-writer performance tracking, A/P and A/R, and partner integrations including Carfax, BoltOn, Kukui, and MyShopManager
08
NAPA TRACS
Best for NAPA Auto Care network members and budget-conscious shops that want an entry price below $150 per month
0.0 ★ · 0
PricingFrom See note
Silver starts at $109 per month. Gold starts at $219 per month. Gold Plus starts at $249 per month. Monthly figures only; annual pricing is not published. Exact cost depends on the package and add-ons, and no add-on prices are published.
Strengths
+Silver includes unlimited estimates and invoices, electronic parts ordering, PartsTech integrated ordering, Mitchell 1 Flat Rate Labor Guide, calendars and appointments, canned jobs and sub estimates, inventory management, VIN scanning, and reporting
+Gold adds M1 ProDemand repair information, integrated time clock, integrated email and email marketing, cash drawer, advanced reporting, technician productivity, fluid capacities, service bulletins and specifications, and a free Learning Management System
+Gold Plus adds unlimited users, unlimited two-way text messaging, TRACSFlow, and a dedicated account manager
Show 2 more strengths
+Catalog integrations across NAPA Catalog, Epicor, Nexpart, PartsTech, and integrated OEM catalogs, with a multi-store parts search across up to 3 distribution centers
Side by side
What each one actually includes
AutoVitals
Product type
DVI, workflow and CRM layer on top of an existing POS
Starting price per month
$219 (DVI, from demo page); CRM from $489; ACDelco $134
Unlimited users on entry plan
Not published
Digital vehicle inspections
Core product, photos and video sent to customer
Two-way texting
Unlimited in the CRM bundle
QuickBooks sync
No QuickBooks integration named on vendor pages; POS connectors only
Published user rating
4.8/5 on Capterra (no review count published)
Tekmetric
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$179 billed annually, $199 billed monthly
Unlimited users on entry plan
Yes, unlimited users and ROs on all plans
Digital vehicle inspections
Included on Start
Two-way texting
Listed on Scale; comparison grid shows it on all tiers
QuickBooks sync
Yes (third-party comparison chart)
Published user rating
4.9/5 from 564 reviews across G2 and Capterra
AutoLeap
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$179 billed annually, $199 billed monthly
Unlimited users on entry plan
Published user counts conflict across vendor pages
Digital vehicle inspections
Standard DVI on Essentials, next-gen on Elite
Two-way texting
Pro tier and above
QuickBooks sync
Yes, QuickBooks Online from Pro up
Published user rating
Not published
Shopmonkey
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$215 billed annually, $239 billed monthly
Unlimited users on entry plan
No — 3 users on Basic, +$20/month per extra user
Digital vehicle inspections
Two templates on Basic, unlimited from Clever
Two-way texting
Included on Basic
QuickBooks sync
Yes, QuickBooks Online on Clever and above
Published user rating
4.6/5 from 270 reviews on Capterra
Shop-Ware
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$279 billed annually (Startup)
Unlimited users on entry plan
Stated as included; terms reference an $8/month per-user fee above plan limits
Digital vehicle inspections
DVX digital vehicle experience on all plans
Two-way texting
Limited on Startup, unlimited from Pro
QuickBooks sync
Yes, QuickBooks Online via direct integration or AccountingLink
Published user rating
Not published
Mitchell 1 Manager SE
Product type
All-in-one shop management, on-premise data
Starting price per month
Not disclosed
Unlimited users on entry plan
No — Additional User $15/month
Digital vehicle inspections
ProSpect mobile inspections, add-on
Two-way texting
MessageCenter add-on, $39/month
QuickBooks sync
Accounting Link add-on, $69/month, connects to virtually any accounting package
Published user rating
Not published
R.O. Writer
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$199 first-year promotional rate (Essentials)
Unlimited users on entry plan
Yes, unlimited users on Essentials
Digital vehicle inspections
DVI Suite add-on, price not published
Two-way texting
Included on Essentials
QuickBooks sync
Accounting Link add-on, price not published
Published user rating
3.7/5 from 9 reviews on Software Finder
NAPA TRACS
Product type
All-in-one shop management
Starting price per month
$109 (Silver)
Unlimited users on entry plan
Only Gold Plus publishes unlimited users
Digital vehicle inspections
Digital Vehicle Inspections listed as an extension, price not published
Two-way texting
Unlimited 2-way text messaging on Gold Plus
QuickBooks sync
Accounting Link listed as an extension
Published user rating
Not published
Product type
Starting price per month
Unlimited users on entry plan
Digital vehicle inspections
Two-way texting
QuickBooks sync
Published user rating
AutoVitals
DVI, workflow and CRM layer on top of an existing POS
$219 (DVI, from demo page); CRM from $489; ACDelco $134
Not published
Core product, photos and video sent to customer
Unlimited in the CRM bundle
No QuickBooks integration named on vendor pages; POS connectors only
4.8/5 on Capterra (no review count published)
Tekmetric
All-in-one shop management
$179 billed annually, $199 billed monthly
Yes, unlimited users and ROs on all plans
Included on Start
Listed on Scale; comparison grid shows it on all tiers
Yes (third-party comparison chart)
4.9/5 from 564 reviews across G2 and Capterra
AutoLeap
Method
How we compared
01
Product type first. AutoVitals does not write repair orders or manage parts inventory on its own and needs a compatible POS. The other seven are all-in-one shop management systems with native repair-order writing. One guide states AutoVitals has expanded into broader shop management; that conflicts with the description above and is unresolved.
02
Published price, then plan contents. Vendor pricing pages are the reference. Where a figure appears only on a third-party listing, it is labeled as such.
03
User and invoice limits. Per-shop unlimited users, per-seat license counts, and per-user overage fees change the total cost for a four- or eight-person shop.
04
Digital inspections with media, two-way texting, and QuickBooks sync depth. Invoice-level detail versus summary totals and sales-tax handling vary by product, so confirm what actually posts to your books.
05
Integrations with parts suppliers and labor guides: PartsTech, NAPA, WORLDPAC, Advance, AutoZone Commercial, O'Reilly First Call, MOTOR, Mitchell 1, ALLDATA.
06
Support and onboarding: whether setup, training, and data migration are included, and whether phone support exists.
07
Ratings only where a named platform and review count are published. Where none exist, the field reads not published.
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
Pick the product type before the price. If you want inspection photos, digital approvals, and customer marketing layered onto the POS you already run, AutoVitals is the only vendor here built that way, and you will need its POS compatibility confirmed before anything else. If you want repair orders, parts, and inspections in one subscription, the entry prices run from $109 to $279 per month depending on the vendor and billing cycle. Four of the eight publish no independent rating at all, and two publish no entry price.
Who should choose what
Best DVI and customer-communication layer for an existing POS
AutoVitals
It runs on top of MaxxTraxx, Mitchell1 Manager SE, NAPA TRACS, Shop-Ware, Tekmetric, Protractor, or WinWorks and handles inspection media, SMS approval, service reminders, and review requests. The trade-off is that it writes no repair orders and carries no parts inventory, so POS compatibility is non-negotiable.
$179 per month billed annually or $199 monthly buys unlimited users, unlimited repair orders, digital vehicle inspections, digital authorizations, and invoicing, with no long-term contract. Grow at $309 annually adds the labor guide and reporting; Scale at $409 adds two-way texting and the shop dashboard.
Silver starts at $109 per month with unlimited estimates and invoices, PartsTech integrated ordering, the Mitchell 1 Flat Rate Labor Guide, and VIN scanning. Ask for the Gold Plus user counts and the add-on prices, since neither is published.
Capterra shows 4.6/5 from 270 reviews with 90% positive sentiment and sub-scores of 4.6 for ease of use and customer service. Tekmetric is rated higher at 4.9/5, but those figures come through an aggregator rather than the platforms themselves.
Enterprise adds reporting across locations, custom feature builds, central controls and permissions, and support for up to 10,000 locations. Tekmetric Multi-Shop at $70 per month per shop and Shopmonkey Multi-Shop at custom pricing are the alternatives if you want published rates on the smaller tiers.
Is there a direct AutoVitals versus Wix comparison for repair shops?
No. Wix is a general website builder, not a shop management system, and no verified Wix pricing, features, or ratings for repair-shop use are published here. If your goal is a website, AutoVitals sells a Web.X package that includes enhanced website pages with up to 50 service pages, and Shop-Ware's Ultimate tier includes a high performance website, search engine optimization, and Google Ads enablement. Both are automotive-specific offerings rather than general site builders.
What does AutoVitals cost?
Its main solutions page publishes no figures and directs you to call (866) 949-2848. Other AutoVitals pages publish DVI from $219 per month, CRM from $489 per month with all CRM features, DVI, workflow management and unlimited two-way texting, and ACDelco member pricing of $134 per month for DVI.X and $404 per month for SmartFlow.X with a setup fee whose amount is not shown. Sources differ; plan around the $134 to $489 range and get the quote in writing.
Which vendors publish prices without a sales call?
Tekmetric ($179 to $439 per month across Start, Grow, and Scale), AutoLeap ($179 to $449 across Essentials, Pro, and Elite), Shopmonkey ($215 to $499 across Basic, Clever, and Genius), Shop-Ware ($279 to $999 across Startup, Pro, Master, and the top tier), R.O. Writer ($199 and $299 first-year rates), and NAPA TRACS ($109, $219, and $249). AutoVitals and Mitchell 1 Manager SE require a quote for the base product.
Do any of these offer a free trial?
AutoVitals states plainly that it does not offer free trials but does offer a free demo. Tekmetric offers free demos and self-guided tours but no trial. AutoLeap's pricing page says no free trial, with a personalized demo instead. R.O. Writer publishes no trial. NAPA TRACS publishes no trial but offers a 90-day money-back guarantee. Mitchell 1 Manager SE has a 14-day trial advertised on a reseller page, not on the vendor's own pages. Shopmonkey's trial status is contested across four sources.
What should I ask about before signing?
Per-user fees, locked payment processors, annual auto-renewals, and features still on a waitlist are the pricing red flags named in buyer guides. Also confirm whether the QuickBooks sync pushes invoice-level detail or only summary totals, whether sales tax is handled correctly, and what the year-two renewal rate is where a first-year promotional price applies.
Do these handle fleet billing?
Fleet account billing — Net-30 corporate, municipal, and last-mile fleets on monthly invoicing rather than per-visit card payment — is a stated requirement for the category. AutoLeap's plan matrix includes fleet management, A/P and A/R, and sublet tracking. Confirm the specific billing workflow with any vendor before you commit.
Vendor pages change. Figures are as published on the capture date; confirm before deciding.
–Enterprise pricing is custom-quoted and Integrated Payments sits on that tier
–Two-way texting placement is inconsistent on the pricing page: the Scale headline lists it as a Scale addition while the comparison grid shows unlimited 2-way texting across all four tiers
–Integration count differs between vendor pages: 50+ on the pricing page, over 70 elsewhere
Show 2 more watch for
–Multi-Shop, Tire Suite, and Marketing are separate monthly add-ons priced per shop
–One-time setup fee applies; amount varies by shop and is not published
–Maintenance Schedules, Diagrams & Procedures, and Multi-Location Reports carry an additional fee on the lower tiers
–User limits conflict across vendor pages: the homepage shows 3 users on Essentials, 5 on Pro, unlimited on Elite, while the FAQ says up to 5 user accounts in the basic plan with extra accounts at an extra fee
Show 2 more watch for
–One active session per login — signing in on a new device signs you out of the previous one
–No free trial on the pricing page; the shop-management product is browser-based rather than a general native app, with a separate technician app
+Capterra rates it 4.6/5 from 270 reviews, with 90% positive sentiment
Watch for
–Two Digital Vehicle Inspection templates on Basic; unlimited only from Clever up
–Extra user licenses cost $20 per month each on the three named plans
–CRM Essentials $314 per month, Bookkeeping $314 per month, Accounting $89 per month, QuickBooks Desktop $249 plus $10 per month per device
Show 2 more watch for
–Capterra's recurring con, from 50% of 40 negative mentions, is high ongoing costs; some reviewers cite a 30-day cancellation notice and post-cancellation access concerns
–Free trial status is contested: Capterra's summary box says none, its review-derived FAQ says a generous one exists, GetApp lists one, and ThirdGear found none advertised on 13 September 2026
+90-day money-back guarantee — cancel for a full refund within 90 days
Watch for
–User limits for Silver and Gold are not published; only Gold Plus states unlimited users
–No add-on prices published for Digital Vehicle Inspections, Marketing & CRM, Reputation and Scheduling, Accounting Link, or the other listed extensions
–360 Payments processing rates are not published
Show 2 more watch for
–No free tier and no free trial; the closest published offer is the 90-day refund guarantee