Restoration Company SEO: What Drives Rankings, What It Costs, and What Google Says
A practical guide to local SEO for water, fire and mold restoration companies: how map-pack ranking works, which Google rules apply to you, what agencies charge, and which popular claims to ignore.
Owners of independent local service businesses in the United States, especially restoration contractors deciding whether to do SEO themselves, hire an agency, or lean on paid leads.
Restoration SEO is the work of making your company show up when a homeowner searches for water damage, fire or mold help in your area. For most independent restoration companies that means two things: ranking in Google's local results through your Google Business Profile (GBP), and having a website that earns its place in organic results without breaking Google's spam rules.
The demand side is real. Water damage and freezing made up 22.6% of US homeowners insurance losses in 2023 data from the Insurance Information Institute (Triple-I), and the average water damage or freezing claim from 2019 to 2023 was $15,400. IBISWorld puts the US damage restoration market at $7.7 billion in 2026. The people searching are mid-emergency, which is why a lot of money is spent trying to win those clicks, and why a lot of agencies sell restoration SEO.
This guide pulls together what Google itself documents, what independent surveys measure, what restoration agencies publish about price, and which commonly repeated statistics have no traceable source. Where figures conflict, the conflict is stated. Google's own help pages say something that matters before you spend anything: if you run a small local business, you can probably do much of the work yourself, and no one can guarantee a number-one ranking.
At a glance
The facts that matter
Water damage share of homeowners losses: 22.6% (2023 data)
Water damage and freezing accounted for 22.6% of homeowners insurance losses, per Triple-I. The average claim from 2019 to 2023 was $15,400.
US damage restoration market: $7.7bn in 2026
IBISWorld's figure for 2026, with a 4.1% compound annual growth rate from 2021 to 2026. A search snippet of the same page showed $7.2bn for 2025.
Top local-pack factor: Primary GBP category
Whitespark's 2026 expert survey (47 respondents) scores the primary Google Business Profile category highest at 227, followed by proximity of address to the searcher at 225.
Consumers who want recent reviews: 74% want reviews from the last 3 months
BrightLocal's 2026 survey of 1,002 US adults also found 68% require at least 4 stars and 32% want reviews from the last two weeks, up from 20% in 2025.
Service-area radius limit: About 2 hours of driving time
Google says service-area boundaries shouldn't extend farther than about 2 hours of driving time from where your business is based.
Google on ranking guarantees: No one can guarantee #1
Google warns against SEOs who guarantee rankings, claim a 'special relationship' with Google, or advertise a 'priority submit'.
Average general SEO agency cost: $2,917 to $3,199 per month
Ahrefs (2024 survey of 439 providers) reports a $2,917 average retainer; Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026) reports a $3,199.19 monthly average. Neither is restoration-specific.
Published restoration-agency prices: $799 to $2,500+ per month
Restoration SEO Marketing lists $799, $999 and $1,699 tiers by city size; Gushwork starts at $800; of 20 agencies Web Tonic compared, only 6 publish rates.
A practical path
What to do
01
Confirm you qualify for a service-area Business Profile: one profile per location, address hidden if you travel to customers, service area within about 2 hours of driving time from your base.
02
Set the primary GBP category and add relevant additional categories. These rank first and eighth among Whitespark's 2026 local-pack factors.
03
Check your business name against Google's rules: no taglines, phone numbers, URLs, or LLC/INC terms without real-world proof. Keep keywords in the title only where they are part of your actual name.
04
If you take emergency calls around the clock, set the 'Opens at' then '24 hours' option for each open day in your hours.
05
Verify the profile using one of the offered methods (phone or text, email, live video call, or postcard). Live video calls are only available during business hours; reviews of the verification take up to 5 business days.
06
Ask customers for genuine reviews without incentives, and reply to every review. Never offer payment, discounts or free work for reviews, and never ask for specific content.
07
Build service pages for each service you actually perform (water, fire, mold, storm) and avoid city pages that only swap the place name.
08
Add LocalBusiness structured data with at least name and address, plus telephone, url, opening hours, geo, and review fields where accurate. Do not expect it to unlock AI Overviews.
09
Verify your credentials for Local Services Ads if you plan to use them: general liability insurance, professional liability insurance, state business license, state owner license, and IICRC certification.
10
Track results in Search Console, where AI feature traffic appears under the 'Web' search type, and give changes a few weeks before judging them.
11
Before hiring an agency, ask about expected results and timeframe, how success is measured, and whether they will share all changes made to your site. Walk away from guaranteed-ranking promises.
12
Compare any SEO quote with paid-lead costs for your market before committing, and check the live results page for your own city rather than relying on national averages.
Watch for these
Common mistakes
Believing a guaranteed ranking
Google states that no one can guarantee a #1 ranking, and lists guaranteed rankings, a claimed 'special relationship' with Google and 'priority submit' offers as warning signs. Google also says there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking.
Publishing near-identical city pages
Google defines doorway abuse as sites or pages created to rank for specific, similar search queries, including multiple sites or URL variations targeting regions or cities that funnel users to one page. Pages that only swap city names fit that definition. Google gives no safe minimum or maximum number of city pages.
Buying links or directory spam
Link spam under Google's policies covers buying or selling links and low-quality directory links. Scaled content abuse, meaning many pages generated mainly to manipulate rankings, is also prohibited.
Paying or discounting for reviews
Google's review policy bans incentives such as payment, discounts, free goods or services, and bans pressuring customers or dictating content. Violations can lead to suspension or termination of the account. The FTC's fake-review rule also bans buying fake reviews and compensation conditioned on a particular sentiment.
Stuffing the business name
Google's name rules prohibit marketing taglines, phone numbers, URLs and irrelevant legal terms (LLC, INC) without real-world proof, even though keywords in the GBP title rank third among Whitespark's local-pack factors.
Creating more than one profile for a location or using a virtual office
Google allows one profile per location and says service-area businesses cannot list a virtual office unless it is staffed during business hours.
Repeating unsourced statistics
Figures such as '42 to 61% of inbound leads from organic after 12 months', '$542 national average water damage lead cost', '81% of restoration searches have local intent' and '60% of restoration leads from Google Business Profile' appear on agency pages without a traceable source. Treat them as marketing, not measurement.
Adding schema to chase AI Overviews
Google's AI features documentation says there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode and no special schema.org structured data to add. A vendor claim of '3x more AI Overview appearances with schema' conflicts with that.
Judging SEO by a few days of data
Google says some changes take effect in a few hours and others can take several months, and suggests waiting a few weeks to assess the effect of a change.
Choose with context
A decision guide
Google Ads
Cost per lead cited (water damage)
$100–$300 (PushLeads, attributed to aggregated 2026 restoration PPC data); CPC $91.07 to $102.45 for core terms (ALM Corp)
Time to results claimed
Immediate (paid)
Main caveat
Vendor-published figures; Dallas-specific keyword CPC reached $250.79, so local markets vary widely
Local Services Ads
Cost per lead cited (water damage)
$50–$150 (PushLeads, attributed to a 2026 ServiceTitan report)
Time to results claimed
Not stated
Main caveat
Requires insurance, state licenses and IICRC certification; moving into Performance Max, restoration timing not published; history won't transfer
SEO, do-it-yourself
Cost per lead cited (water damage)
Not published
Time to results claimed
Google: some changes in hours, others several months; wait a few weeks to assess
Main caveat
Google says a small local business can probably do much of the work itself; PushLeads gives an uncited $500–$1,500/month DIY range
SEO, agency
Cost per lead cited (water damage)
About $600 at month 6 and about $75 at month 18 (PushLeads internal calculation); $75–$150 long-term (ALM Corp, unattributed)
Time to results claimed
Vendors claim 3–6 months for noticeable improvement, 6–12 months for consistent lead flow, or 12–18 months
Main caveat
General agency averages are $2,917 (Ahrefs) to $3,199 (Clutch) per month; restoration vendors publish $799 to $2,500+; no one can guarantee a #1 ranking
Channel
Cost per lead cited (water damage)
Time to results claimed
Main caveat
Google Ads
$100–$300 (PushLeads, attributed to aggregated 2026 restoration PPC data); CPC $91.07 to $102.45 for core terms (ALM Corp)
Immediate (paid)
Vendor-published figures; Dallas-specific keyword CPC reached $250.79, so local markets vary widely
Local Services Ads
$50–$150 (PushLeads, attributed to a 2026 ServiceTitan report)
Not stated
Requires insurance, state licenses and IICRC certification; moving into Performance Max, restoration timing not published; history won't transfer
SEO, do-it-yourself
Not published
Google: some changes in hours, others several months; wait a few weeks to assess
Google says a small local business can probably do much of the work itself; PushLeads gives an uncited $500–$1,500/month DIY range
SEO, agency
About $600 at month 6 and about $75 at month 18 (PushLeads internal calculation); $75–$150 long-term (ALM Corp, unattributed)
Vendors claim 3–6 months for noticeable improvement, 6–12 months for consistent lead flow, or 12–18 months
Takeaway
Start with what Google controls and documents: a compliant service-area Business Profile with the right category, honest hours, genuine and recent reviews, and real service pages instead of swapped-name city pages. That covers most of the top local-pack factors and costs little but time. If you hire help, treat any ranking guarantee as disqualifying, ask for a written timeframe, success measures and a change log, and compare quotes against general agency averages of roughly $2,917 to $3,199 per month and against paid-lead costs in your own market. Ignore unsourced statistics, and confirm LSA requirements and migration timing before relying on that channel.
Primary category, business title, hours and reviews appear among Whitespark's top local-pack factors, and Google says you can probably do much of the work yourself.
Best check before hiring
Google's questions for an SEO
Ask about expected results and timeframe, how success is measured, and whether they will share all changes made to your site, and reject guaranteed rankings.
Best paid option to evaluate
Local Services Ads
PushLeads cites $50 to $150 per water damage lead, but you need insurance, state licenses and IICRC certification, and the move into Performance Max is underway.
Biggest thing to avoid
Mass-produced city pages and bought links
Google's spam policies define doorway abuse and link spam, and give no safe page count.
Why restoration companies invest in SEO
Restoration is an urgent-need service. A homeowner with a flooded basement searches, scans a few results, and calls. Insurance data shows how common the underlying events are: Triple-I reports water damage and freezing at 22.6% of homeowners insurance losses in 2023, an average claim of $15,400 over 2019 to 2023, and a frequency of 1.50 claims per 100 house-years over the same period.
The frequency figure has a conflict worth knowing. The same Triple-I page also says about one in 60 insured homes has a property damage claim caused by water damage or freezing, and ties that to older 2018 to 2020 data. The 1.50 per 100 house-years figure works out to roughly 1 in 67, which is the number a secondary summary used. Both sit on the same Triple-I page, so quote the date range with whichever you use.
On the industry side, IBISWorld puts the US damage restoration market at $7.7 billion in 2026 (a search snippet of the page showed $7.2 billion for 2025), growing at a 4.1% compound annual rate from 2021 to 2026. Establishment counts differ by source: snippets cite about 55,000 (IBISWorld, 2024) and 60,020, and neither could be confirmed on the primary page, so treat the competitor count as roughly in that range rather than exact.
Industry and claims data
Fact
Source
Year
Fact
Water damage and freezing = 22.6% of homeowners insurance losses
Source
Triple-I, Homeowners & renters insurance
Year
2023 data
Fact
Average water damage/freezing claim = $15,400
Source
Triple-I (same page)
Year
2019–2023 average
Fact
Frequency = 1.50 claims per 100 house-years (about 1 in 67)
Source
Triple-I (same page)
Year
2019–2023
Fact
US damage restoration market = $7.7bn in 2026 ($7.2bn in 2025 per search snippet), 4.1% CAGR
Source
IBISWorld
Year
2021–2026
Sources: Triple-I (iii.org) and IBISWorld. Triple-I also states about one in 60 insured homes has a water damage or freezing claim, tied to older 2018–2020 data.
What drives local map-pack rankings
Google describes local ranking in three words: relevance, distance and popularity. It adds that more reviews and positive ratings can help your local ranking, and that there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking.
Whitespark's Local Search Ranking Factors 2026 is the most detailed independent view. It is an expert survey with 47 respondents, and it scores each factor. The top ten local-pack factors are in the table below. Three of the top four are about your Business Profile (category, title, address), and the survey points to hours and reviews rising in importance. In the same survey, citations show a downward trend, and for AI search, 'mentions (citations) are the new link.'
Some third-party write-ups, including Web Tonic's, state that Google Business Profile signals account for 32% of ranking, with review signals around 20% (up from 16% in 2023) and on-page signals 15%. Whitespark's own page lists factor scores, not category percentages, so treat those percentages as secondhand.
Top 10 local-pack ranking factors, Whitespark 2026
Rank
Factor
Score
Rank
1
Factor
Primary GBP category
The service-area address problem
Restoration companies almost always travel to the customer, so they are service-area businesses. Google's guidelines say that if your business has no storefront with clear signage but travels to customers, you are allowed one service-area Business Profile, and that you should hide your business address from customers.
Whitespark's ranking list pulls the other way. It scores 'Physical address in city of search' at #4 and 'Address is showing on GBP' at #7, while also flagging showing the address as a suspension risk for service-area businesses. Neither Google nor Whitespark resolves that tension. The practical reading is that Google's published rule is the one that can get a profile suspended, so follow it, and understand that physical proximity to the searcher still influences who appears.
Two other Google rules affect where you can compete. Service-area boundaries shouldn't extend farther than about 2 hours of driving time from where your business is based, and service-area businesses can't list a virtual office unless it is staffed during business hours. Google also says not to create more than one page for each location of your business.
Set up your Google Business Profile correctly
Because the profile drives so many of the top local-pack factors, getting the basics right is the highest-leverage SEO task a restoration owner can do without an agency.
Category and name. The primary category is the number one factor in Whitespark's list and additional categories are number eight. Keywords in the business title are number three, but Google's name rules are strict: no marketing taglines, phone numbers, URLs, or irrelevant legal terms such as LLC or INC without real-world proof. Use the legal, real-world name customers know you by.
Hours. Whitespark ranks 'Business is open at time of search' fifth in 2026, and hours-related factors rose sharply compared with 2023. Google's profile has a '24 hours' setting: for each open day, choose 'Opens at,' then '24 hours,' then Save. If your company really answers emergency calls around the clock, this is a straightforward way to say so.
Verification. Google lists phone or text, email, live video call, and mail (postcard) as methods. Verification reviews take up to 5 business days, and live video calls are only available during business hours.
Service-area honesty. Do not show your address if you are a service-area business, keep the service area within the roughly 2-hour driving limit, and keep one profile per location.
Reviews: what customers expect and what the rules allow
BrightLocal's Local Consumer Review Survey 2026 (1,002 US adults) shows how much weight reviews carry and how fast they age. 97% read reviews for local businesses. 74% look for reviews written in the last three months, and 32% want reviews from the last two weeks, up from 20% in 2025. 68% require at least 4 stars, and 31% only use businesses rated 4.5 or higher. Google's share as a review source fell from 83% in 2025 to 71%, so reviews elsewhere also matter. On responses, 80% are likely to use businesses that respond to all reviews, and 50% are unlikely to use businesses that give generic templated responses.
Google's policy sets the limits on how you collect them. You may solicit genuine-experience reviews without incentives. You may not offer payment, discounts, or free goods or services in exchange for reviews, pressure or require customers to review, or request that specific content be included. Violations can lead to account suspension or termination.
The FTC's final rule on fake reviews (announced August 2024) adds federal limits. It bans creating or buying fake reviews, compensation conditioned on a particular sentiment, undisclosed insider reviews, review suppression through unfounded legal threats or intimidation, and buying or selling fake social media indicators. The announcement says the rule takes effect 60 days after Federal Register publication.
BrightLocal Local Consumer Review Survey 2026
Finding
Figure
Finding
Read reviews for local businesses
Website content, city pages and Google's spam policies
Google's spam policies (updated August 28, 2026) matter for restoration companies because the standard agency playbook includes a page for every city served. Google defines doorway abuse as sites or pages created to rank for specific, similar search queries, and its examples include multiple sites or URL variations targeting regions or cities that funnel users to one page. Pages that only swap the city name fall under that definition. Google does not give a minimum number of cities or a safe page count, so there is no number to hide behind.
Scaled content abuse, where many pages are generated mainly to manipulate search rankings, is also prohibited. Link spam covers buying or selling links and low-quality directory links. The policies also cover site reputation abuse, cloaking, and expired domain abuse.
For content you do want to publish, Google's helpful-content guidance uses a Who, How and Why framework. It asks for self-evident authorship and for disclosure of how automation or AI was used. For a restoration site that points toward service pages written by people who do the work, with real project detail and clear authorship, rather than templated pages.
Structured data and AI search
Google's LocalBusiness structured data documentation (updated September 8, 2026) requires two properties, address and name. Recommended properties include telephone, url, openingHoursSpecification, geo, aggregateRating and review. The page gives no service-area-specific guidance, so if you are hiding your address on your Business Profile, think about how you handle the address property on your own site.
On AI search, Google is direct. Its AI features page says there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary, and no special schema.org structured data you need to add. A page must be indexed and eligible to show with a snippet. Traffic from AI features is counted in the Search Console Performance report under the 'Web' search type.
That contradicts a claim on one restoration agency page of '3x more AI Overview appearances with schema,' which cites no source. Schema is still reasonable for describing your business accurately, but do not pay extra for it as an AI-visibility tactic.
Local Services Ads: requirements and the Performance Max move
Local Services Ads (LSA) are Google's pay-per-lead listings for local providers. Water damage is an eligible US category. Google's US screening requirements list general liability insurance, professional liability insurance, a state business license, a state owner license, IICRC certification, and business and owner checks for 'select users.' Google notes that professionals with this certification may need additional licenses to repair water damage issues.
LSA is also changing. Google Ads Help says LSA is moving into Performance Max campaigns with pay-per-lead goals. Phase 1, in August 2026, covers select US home and storefront service providers: plumbing, HVAC, electrical, appliance repair, cleaning, lawn care, roofing, pest control and moving. 'Late 2026' covers service-area businesses and custom configurations, and 2027 covers non-US accounts and remaining categories. Migrating advertisers get 14 days' notice, and historical performance reports won't transfer.
Restoration is not named in phase 1, and Google's page does not give restoration-specific migration timing. If you run LSA or plan to, export the performance history you want to keep before a migration notice arrives, since it will not carry over.
What SEO costs compared with paid leads
Cost per lead is where SEO and paid channels get compared, and the published numbers mostly come from vendors. Treat them as ranges to test against your own market.
PushLeads (a vendor; no publish date shown) lists Google Ads cost per lead of $100 to $300 for water damage, $150 to $450 for fire, $55 to $250 for mold and $110 to $340 for storm, attributed to aggregated 2026 data across restoration PPC managers. Its LSA cost per lead is $50 to $150 for water damage, $75 to $200 for fire and $35 to $100 for mold, attributed to a 2026 ServiceTitan report. Its SEO cost per lead is an internal calculation, with examples of about $600 per lead at month 6 and about $75 per lead at month 18. Its SEO monthly cost ranges ($500 to $1,500 DIY, $2,000 to $5,000 mid-tier agency, $5,000 to $10,000+ aggressive) are uncited.
ALM Corp (February 12, 2026) attributes cost-per-click figures to Google Ads Keyword Planner for US searches: $91.07 for 'water damage restoration,' $96.54 for 'water damage repair,' $102.45 for 'water damage repair near me,' and $250.79 for 'water damage restoration Dallas.' Its SEO figures ($2,250 to $5,000+ per month, $75 to $150 long-term cost per lead, 12 to 18 months) are not attributed to any study.
The takeaway is directional: paid clicks in this niche are expensive, and the SEO payback claims depend on a long timeline and on undisclosed methods.
Cost per lead by channel (vendor-published)
Channel
Water damage
Fire
Mold
Storm
What SEO agencies charge
Two independent benchmarks cover SEO agencies generally, not restoration specifically. Clutch (updated September 21, 2026, based on 65,550 SEO companies and their client project reviews) reports an average monthly SEO cost of $3,199.19, an average project cost of $37,158.66, and hourly rates of $100 to $149 at most agencies. Ahrefs' survey (updated August 15, 2024, 439 providers) reports an average retainer of $2,917 per month. The most popular retainer band is $501 to $1,000 (20.4% of respondents), 63% of businesses spend $500 to $5,000 per month, and 78.2% of SEOs bill a monthly retainer. Some search summaries cite $3,209 for the Ahrefs average; the survey page itself says $2,917.
Restoration-niche vendors publish less often. Restoration SEO Marketing lists three tiers by city population and claims no contracts or setup fees. Gushwork starts at $800 per month. Of the 20 agencies in Web Tonic's comparison, only 6 publish rates; the other 14 quote custom pricing. Vinnie Mac's Restoration Marketing lists no prices. Web Tonic is itself a vendor and ranks itself second in its own list.
Published restoration-agency prices
Vendor
Published price
Notes
Vendor
Restoration SEO Marketing
Published price
$799/mo (city under 150K population); $999/mo (150K–300K); $1,699/mo (300K+)
How long SEO takes
Google's SEO Starter Guide (updated December 10, 2025) says some changes might take effect in a few hours and others could take several months, and suggests waiting a few weeks to assess the effect of changes.
Vendors give longer figures. Restoration SEO Marketing claims 3 to 6 months for noticeable improvement and 6 to 12 months for consistent lead flow. PushLeads' examples put SEO cost per lead at about $600 at month 6 and about $75 at month 18, and ALM Corp cites 12 to 18 months for long-term returns. None of these is backed by a disclosed method, so use them as a planning range and ask any agency to put its own expected timeframe in writing.
Hiring an SEO: what Google tells owners
Google's 'Do you need an SEO?' page (last updated June 5, 2026) is short and owner-friendly. It says: 'No one can guarantee a #1 ranking on Google. Beware of SEOs that claim to guarantee rankings, allege a "special relationship" with Google, or advertise a "priority submit" to Google.' It also says: 'If you run a small local business, you can probably do much of the work yourself.'
If you do hire, Google's suggested questions include what results to expect and in what timeframe, how success will be measured, and whether the SEO will share all changes made to your site. Add the findings above to your checklist: ask whether they plan to build city pages and how those pages differ from one another, whether they buy links or directory placements, how they handle your Business Profile name and address, and how they collect reviews.
Statistics that circulate without a traceable source
Agency blogs in this niche repeat many numbers that are not tied to a study. Do not use these in budgets or pitches without verification.
'42 to 61% of inbound leads from organic after 12 months' appears on Geek Powered Studios (updated August 11, 2026) with no source. The same page gives a '$542 national average water damage lead cost,' '81% of restoration searches have local intent,' and '22% of restoration companies use schema,' also with no source.
'60% of restoration leads from Google Business Profile' appears on Comrade, which attributes it to 'Reddit/Google My Business.'
'85% of property owners research a restoration company online' and '58% hire the first company they reach' are quoted by Web Tonic. The original source for these two could not be traced.
Thrive Agency's list includes a '5,556% traffic increase from AI platforms' result that is unverified. Restoration Marketing's 'trusted by 70+ restoration contractors' and its case study of '20 jobs worth over $150K' (no timeframe) have no independent proof. Gushwork's $500K case study names no client, and The RMG's benchmarks ('top 3 for 70%+ of keywords,' 'CTR above 15%') are unsourced.
What the popular restoration SEO guides cover, and where they fall short
If you read other guides before choosing a vendor, here is how the pages that appear for this search stack up. They were read as a sample of what a search tool returned for the query; check the live results page in your own city before treating them as the top-ranking pages.
Restoration SEO pages: coverage and gaps
Page
Date
What it covers
What it lacks
Page
Thrive Agency, '12 Best Restoration Digital Marketing Agencies'
Date
Published Jan 22, 2026; updated Sept 18, 2026
What it covers
Ranked agency list. Author Thea Danganan is a content writer at Thrive. Thrive ranks itself #1 (97/100), and the scoring weights 'AI visibility' at 60%.
What it lacks
What is still unknown
Several things owners often ask about have no published answer. Google has not published guidance specific to restoration SEO. No published count exists of how many restoration businesses rank in the map pack. No review counts or platform ratings were checked for the agencies named above, including on Clutch, G2 or Google profiles, so check those yourself before signing. Search volume for the phrase 'restoration company seo' from Google Keyword Planner was not retrieved. The restoration-specific timing of the Local Services Ads move into Performance Max is not on Google's migration page. And the tension between Whitespark's address-related ranking factors and Google's instruction to hide a service-area address is unresolved by either source.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is restoration company SEO?
It is the work of getting a water, fire or mold restoration company to appear in Google's local map results and organic results for local searches. For most independent restoration companies, that centers on the Google Business Profile, reviews, accurate business details, and a website with real service pages that follows Google's spam policies.
How much does restoration SEO cost?
It depends on the provider. Independent benchmarks for general SEO agencies average $2,917 per month (Ahrefs, 2024) to $3,199.19 per month (Clutch, updated September 2026), and the most common Ahrefs retainer band is $501 to $1,000. Restoration vendors that publish prices list $799 to $2,500 or more per month, for example Restoration SEO Marketing at $799, $999 or $1,699 depending on city size. Of 20 agencies in one comparison, 14 quote custom pricing only.
Can I do restoration SEO myself?
Google says that if you run a small local business, you can probably do much of the work yourself. The profile setup, hours, reviews and service-page work in this guide are tasks an owner or office manager can handle, while link building and technical work are where owners more often bring in help.
How long does restoration SEO take to work?
Google says some changes take effect in a few hours and others take several months, and recommends waiting a few weeks to assess a change. Vendors claim 3 to 6 months for noticeable improvement and 6 to 12 months for consistent lead flow, and some cite 12 to 18 months, but these timelines are not backed by a disclosed method.
Can an agency guarantee a first-page or number-one ranking?
No. Google states that no one can guarantee a #1 ranking, and lists guaranteed rankings, a claimed special relationship with Google, and 'priority submit' offers as red flags. Google also says there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking.
Should I show my address on my Google Business Profile?
If you travel to customers and have no storefront with clear signage, Google says you should hide your address. Whitespark's 2026 survey ranks having an address in the city of search and showing the address on the profile among top ranking factors, but also flags showing the address as a suspension risk for service-area businesses. Google's rule is the one that governs suspension.
Do I need a separate page for every city I serve?
Not necessarily, and mass-produced city pages are risky. Google defines doorway abuse as pages created to rank for specific, similar search queries, including variations targeting cities, and pages that only swap city names fall under that definition. Google does not publish a safe number of city pages.
Do I need schema markup to show up in AI Overviews?
No. Google says there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode and no special schema.org structured data to add. The page must be indexed and eligible to show with a snippet. LocalBusiness markup requires address and name and recommends fields such as telephone, url, opening hours, geo, aggregateRating and review.
Can I give customers a discount for leaving a review?
No. Google's review policy bans payment, discounts, and free goods or services in exchange for reviews, and bans pressuring customers or asking for specific content. Asking for genuine reviews without incentives is allowed. The FTC's fake-review rule also bans compensation conditioned on a particular sentiment.
How many reviews and what rating do customers expect?
BrightLocal's 2026 survey found 68% of consumers require at least 4 stars and 31% only use businesses rated 4.5 or higher. 74% look for reviews from the last three months, and 32% want reviews from the last two weeks. 80% are likely to use businesses that respond to all reviews. No review-count threshold was published.
Can a restoration company use Local Services Ads?
Water damage is an eligible US category. Google lists general liability insurance, professional liability insurance, a state business license, a state owner license, IICRC certification, and business and owner checks for select users. LSA is moving into Performance Max campaigns; restoration is not named in the August 2026 first phase, and restoration-specific timing is not published.
Is SEO cheaper than paid leads for restoration?
Vendor figures suggest it can be over time, but the evidence is thin. PushLeads cites Google Ads at $100 to $300 and LSA at $50 to $150 per water damage lead, and gives SEO examples of about $600 per lead at month 6 and about $75 at month 18 from an internal calculation. Those SEO numbers are not independently verified, so test with your own tracking.
General agency averages are $2,917 (Ahrefs) to $3,199 (Clutch) per month; restoration vendors publish $799 to $2,500+; no one can guarantee a #1 ranking
Score
227
Rank
2
Factor
Proximity of address to point of search
Score
225
Rank
3
Factor
Keywords in GBP business title
Score
223
Rank
4
Factor
Physical address in city of search
Score
213
Rank
5
Factor
Business is open at time of search
Score
189
Rank
6
Factor
High numerical Google ratings
Score
181
Rank
7
Factor
Address is showing on GBP
Score
176
Rank
8
Factor
Additional GBP categories
Score
173
Rank
9
Factor
Quantity of native Google reviews with text
Score
170
Rank
10
Factor
Proper map pin placement
Score
165
Whitespark, Local Search Ranking Factors 2026. Expert survey with 47 respondents. Showing your address on GBP when you are a service-area business is flagged separately as a suspension risk (score 105).
Figure
97%
Finding
Seek reviews written in the last three months
Figure
74%
Finding
Want reviews from the last two weeks
Figure
32% (up from 20% in 2025)
Finding
Require at least 4 stars
Figure
68%
Finding
Only use businesses rated 4.5 or higher
Figure
31%
Finding
Google's share as a review source
Figure
71% (down from 83% in 2025)
Finding
Likely to use businesses that respond to all reviews
Figure
80%
Finding
Unlikely to use businesses giving generic templated responses
Figure
50%
BrightLocal, Local Consumer Review Survey 2026. Sample: 1,002 US adults.
Attribution
Channel
Google Ads
Water damage
$100–$300
Fire
$150–$450
Mold
$55–$250
Storm
$110–$340
Attribution
PushLeads: aggregated 2026 data across restoration industry PPC managers
Channel
Local Services Ads
Water damage
$50–$150
Fire
$75–$200
Mold
$35–$100
Storm
Not listed
Attribution
PushLeads: attributed to a 2026 ServiceTitan report
Channel
SEO
Water damage
About $600 at month 6; about $75 at month 18 (examples)
Fire
Not listed
Mold
Not listed
Storm
Not listed
Attribution
PushLeads: internal calculation
PushLeads cost-per-lead page (vendor; no publish date shown).
Cost per click for water damage keywords
Keyword
CPC
Keyword
Water damage restoration
CPC
$91.07
Keyword
Water damage repair
CPC
$96.54
Keyword
Water damage repair near me
CPC
$102.45
Keyword
Water damage restoration Dallas
CPC
$250.79
ALM Corp, February 12, 2026, attributed to Google Ads Keyword Planner, US searches.
Notes
Claims no contracts or setup fees. No date shown on page.
Vendor
Gushwork
Published price
From $800/mo
Notes
Claims '4.9/5 by 100+ consulting professionals', which is not a customer review count; no review platform is linked.
Vendor
Write-Click Media
Published price
From $97/mo
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison of 20 agencies
Vendor
HouseCall SEO
Published price
From $750
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison
Vendor
Complete SEO
Published price
$1,500
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison
Vendor
SEO for Contractors
Published price
$1,500
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison
Vendor
Outpace SEO
Published price
$2,500
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison
Vendor
Dabaran
Published price
$2,500
Notes
Listed in Web Tonic's comparison
Vendor
Restoration Marketing (Vinnie Mac)
Published price
No prices listed
Notes
Service page only
Vendor pages and Web Tonic (published Aug 13, updated Sept 28, 2026). Only 6 of 20 agencies in Web Tonic's comparison publish rates; 14 quote custom pricing. Web Tonic is a vendor and ranks itself #2.
Independent SEO pricing benchmarks (general, not restoration-specific)
Measure
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
Measure
Average monthly cost / retainer
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
$3,199.19
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
$2,917
Measure
Average project cost
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
$37,158.66
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
Not reported
Measure
Typical hourly rate
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
$100–$149
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
Not reported
Measure
Most popular retainer band
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
Not reported
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
$501–$1,000 (20.4% of respondents)
Measure
Share of businesses spending $500–$5,000/month
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
Not reported
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
63%
Measure
SEOs billing a monthly retainer
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
Not reported
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
78.2%
Measure
Sample
Clutch (updated Sept 21, 2026)
65,550 SEO companies and their client project reviews
Ahrefs (updated Aug 15, 2024)
439 providers
Clutch and Ahrefs. A search summary cited $3,209 as the Ahrefs average; the survey page says $2,917.
Self-ranked. Results stats (for example '5,556% traffic increase from AI platforms') are unverified. No how-to for owners. Pricing is only a 'no-contract' mention.
Page
Comrade, 'SEO for Restoration Companies: 14 steps'
Date
Updated Sept 1, 2026
What it covers
About 6,500 words covering keywords, GBP, NAP, reviews, content, technical SEO, links, digital PR, social and tracking. Cites about 15 stats to named third parties (Reputation911, PR Newswire, BrightLocal and others).
What it lacks
No prices. Sources are mostly secondary or low-authority, and Reddit is cited for the 60% GBP figure. No reference to Google's service-area or doorway rules.
Page
Geek Powered Studios, SEO for Restoration Companies
Date
Aug 11, 2026
What it covers
7-step system with schema, city pages, call tracking and a '2 AM test.' Tool prices: Semrush $139/mo, Ahrefs $129/mo, BrightLocal $39/mo, CallRail from $45/mo, Podium $399/mo, Screaming Frog $259/yr.
What it lacks
Most stats are uncited. No agency pricing. The schema/AI claim contradicts Google's documentation.
Page
Restoration Marketing (Vinnie Mac), Water Damage SEO
Date
2026 copyright only
What it covers
A service page. 'Trusted by 70+ restoration contractors.' One case study: '20 jobs worth over $150K' (no timeframe).
What it lacks
No prices or dates. No independent proof.
Page
restorationseomarketing.com
Date
None shown
What it covers
Tiered pricing by city size ($799 / $999 / $1,699). Timeline claim: 3 to 6 months for noticeable improvement, 6 to 12 months for consistent lead flow.
What it lacks
Testimonials are unnamed. Guarantee terms are not shown.
No external citations. No pricing. Benchmarks ('top 3 for 70%+ of keywords,' 'CTR above 15%') are unsourced.
Page
Gushwork
Date
None shown
What it covers
Pricing from $800/mo. Offers 'Answer Engine Optimization.'
What it lacks
The '4.9/5 by 100+ consulting professionals' claim has no review platform link. No named client for its $500K case study.
Page
Web Tonic, 'Water Damage SEO Agencies 2026'
Date
Aug 13; updated Sept 28, 2026
What it covers
Tabulates which agencies publish prices (6 of 20).
What it lacks
Self-ranked (#2). Its statistics have no sources.
Pages returned by a search tool for the query 'restoration company seo.' This is not a verified rank order. Thrive, Web Tonic and the other agency pages are vendors promoting their own services.
Gaps that run across these guides
Topic
What the guides do
Topic
Google's own documentation on service-area businesses, doorway abuse and AI features
What the guides do
Not cited by any of them
Topic
Pricing
What the guides do
Rarely published; where it is, it comes from sellers
Topic
Google's review policy and the FTC fake-review rule
What the guides do
Not cited by any of them
Topic
DIY versus agency costs
What the guides do
Not contrasted
Topic
LSA eligibility requirements and the 2026 Performance Max migration
What the guides do
Not explained
Topic
Cited statistics
What the guides do
Mostly unsourced or sourced to other vendors
Topic
Triple-I claims data
What the guides do
Not used
Topic
SEO timeline and cost versus paid-lead costs using a disclosed method