Best Website Builder for Lawyers (2026): 8 Platforms Compared on Intake, Compliance and Price
Squarespace, Wix, WordPress, Webflow, LawLytics, Clio Grow, B12 and Shopify compared on practice-area pages, intake handoff, bar-advertising constraints and published pricing. Prices captured 2026-09-24.
Owners of independent local service businesses in the United States
Best Website Builder for Lawyers (2026): 8 Platforms Compared on Intake, Compliance and Price
Vendors compared
8
Published entry prices
$4–$29
Criteria checked
11
Captured
2026-09-24
A law firm's site is an intake machine, not a brochure. It needs one page per practice area with unique copy, an intake form that routes into case management, attorney bios with real photos and bar admissions, and the disclaimers your state bar expects. No website builder enforces attorney-advertising rules, so compliance stays a human job on every platform here. This comparison covers the eight platforms that come up when U.S. law firms shop for a website builder, using published plan prices and the scoring model independent reviewers apply to legal sites. Two of the eight (LawLytics and Clio Grow) do not publish U.S. pricing publicly.
Shortlist
8 options, ranked
01
Squarespace
Best for solo attorneys and small firms that want a professional-looking site with practice-area pages, bios and an intake form, built by non-technical staff
PricingFour published website plans: $19–$25/mo (Basic), $29–$39/mo (Core), $49–$65/mo (Plus), $99–$139/mo (Advanced). The lower figure in each pair is the annual-billed rate and the higher figure is the monthly-billed rate. Squarespace's own blog posts say plans start at around $16/mo, which does not match the pricing page. Consultation booking requires Acuity Scheduling, a separate subscription whose prices are not disclosed on the captured pages. 14-day free trial, no credit card; no free tier. From 19.
Strengths
+One reviewer's weighted checklist says Squarespace handles all seven lawyer must-haves — practice-area pages, intake form, bar disclaimers, attorney bios, NAP consistency, blog, reviews — without additional apps.
+Scored 8.8/10 overall fit for lawyers in an independent 1–10 factor model, the highest of the four platforms scored there (template aesthetic 9, practice-area publishing 9, intake integrations 9, ease of editing 9, mobile 9).
+Core plan and above add unlimited contributors, custom code and third-party integrations; a design guide calls Core "the sweet spot for most law firms."
+Invoices included free on all plans with no invoice transaction fee; Pay Links unlimited; SSL, SEO tools and 24/7 support on every plan.
Watch for
–Squarespace does not enforce attorney-advertising compliance — "Attorney Advertising" labels, prior-results disclaimers and testimonial restrictions are left to the firm.
–SEO control is rated "Basic" in a CMS comparison matrix, below WordPress and Drupal at "Excellent."
–Consultation booking is not in any plan: adding Acuity Scheduling is required, and its plan names and prices are not published on the captured pages (only the trial tier "Emerging" is named).
–If a legal-specific chat widget or payment-plan tool only exists in Wix's marketplace, switching to Squarespace means rebuilding that workflow.
Best for firms that want bookings, payments and the widest marketplace of legal-specific add-ons on one platform
PricingPublished yearly-billed prices: Free $0 (Wix subdomain and branding), Light $17/mo (no payments), Core $29/mo, Business $39/mo (marked recommended), Business Elite $159/mo, Enterprise custom. Month-to-month and multi-year prices are not shown. 14-day money-back guarantee on first upgrade; no free trial of paid plans. From 17.
Strengths
+Wix's marketplace is broader than Squarespace's and catches some legal-specific tools it does not — legal-specific chat widgets, payment-plan integrations and niche practice-management tools.
+Native bookings, payments and CRM from the Core plan up: Wix Bookings manages appointments, staff and clients, with email and text reminders.
+Plan ladder scales with headcount — 2 site collaborators on Light, 5 on Core, 10 on Business, up to 100 on Business Elite per the pricing page.
+Lead-capture forms are counted per plan (4 on Light, 10 on Core, 25 on Business, 75 on Business Elite), which is a real intake limit you can plan around.
Watch for
–Covers five of the seven lawyer checklist items natively and needs extra configuration for the case-management handoff and the disclaimer-friendly footer layout.
–Defaults for disclaimers, footers and structured data need manual cleanup — one reviewer calls it "friction that adds up across the two years you'll spend on the platform."
03
WordPress
Best for firms with some technical comfort that want full SEO control and thousands of plugins at the lowest published price
PricingWordPress.com publishes: Free $0 (subdomain, 1 GB, WordPress.com ads shown); Personal $4/mo billed annually, $2.75/mo on 3-year billing, $3.25/mo on 2-year, $9/mo monthly. Premium, Business and Commerce prices are not shown in the captured pricing-page content. Plugin installation is listed from Personal; uploaded plugins require Business or Commerce. Self-hosted WordPress.org is free software — published host prices include Bluehost Starter $3.99/mo, DreamPress 3 $20.99/mo first year rising to $28.99, WP Engine Build from $28.00/mo. From 4.
Strengths
+Rated "Excellent" for both customization and SEO control in a CMS comparison matrix for law firms — the strongest SEO rating of any builder in that table.
+Described as the most widely CMS among law firms, supported by thousands of plugins (WordPress.com's own page cites both "over 60,000" and "50,000+" plugins).
+Unlimited pages, posts, users and visitors on all paid plans; 1 GB storage free, 6 GB Personal, 50 GB Business plus 250 GB VideoPress.
+Cheapest published entry price of the eight platforms: $4/mo annual on Personal, $2.75/mo on a 3-year term.
Watch for
–"It does require a bit more technical know-how compared to turnkey website builders."
04
Webflow
Best for firms with a designer or developer on call that want the strongest long-tail local SEO control and location pages
PricingSite plans per site: Starter free (Webflow.io subdomain, 2 static pages, 50 form submissions, 1,000 monthly visits per the Help Center); Basic $15/mo billed yearly; Premium $25/mo billed yearly (20,000 CMS items, unlimited form submissions). Month-to-month prices are not shown on the vendor's capture; third-party trackers list Basic $25/mo and Premium $39/mo billed monthly. Workspace: Team $2,500/mo on an annual contract, Enterprise quote-only. Add-ons published: Webflow Optimize $299/mo, Webflow Analyze $9/mo, Localize Essential $9/mo and Advanced $29/mo. From 15.
Strengths
+Scored 9/10 on local SEO and long-tail and 9/10 on mobile experience in the lawyer-specific 1–10 model — the top local SEO score of the four platforms scored.
+CMS items map directly to service-area and office-location pages: 20,000 items across 40 Collections on Premium, with scheduled publishing and per-item publishing.
+Unlimited form submissions on Basic and above; form file upload (max 10 MB per file) on Premium for document or photo intake, downloadable as CSV.
+Cloud-based with low–moderate maintenance and "Good" security posture in the CMS matrix.
Watch for
–Ease of editing for non-designers scored 4/10 — the lowest of any platform in the model — and template aesthetic is rated "8 if designer."
05
LawLytics
Best for solo attorneys and small firms that want a done-for-you legal website with built-in legal SEO guidance and low maintenance
PricingNot disclosed. LawLytics publishes no plan names, prices, user limits or add-on fees on its public pages — pricing sits behind a demo and sales conversation (phone 800-713-0161). Billing is monthly or annually, with amounts shown only inside the account or sales flow. Clio's app directory lists LawLytics "Starting at $179 per month USD," which the vendor does not confirm or break down. Free plan status is unverified.
Strengths
+Built specifically for law-firm content: practice-area pages, attorney profiles, office/location pages, blog posts, case results and recommendations are the product's native structures.
+Rated "Excellent (legal-specific)" for security and compliance and "Low" for maintenance in a CMS matrix for law firms; ease of use "Easy."
+Native integrations with Clio and Clio Grow, Smokeball lead capture, LEAP, PracticePanther, Filevine, Lawmatics, LawPay, FeeWise, plus Calendly, HubSpot, Constant Contact, LiveChat, BirdEye and a UserWay ADA/WCAG widget — 20 integrations counted on the vendor's site.
+Described as one of the most recommended options for lawyers who want a legal-specific, turnkey website, alongside Clio Grow.
Watch for
–Pricing requires a sales conversation instead of published plan tiers; an independent review records "Pricing on request" with page limits and free-plan status "Not verified."
06
Clio Grow
Best for firms already running Clio Manage that want website intake to land in the same pipeline as case and document management
PricingNot disclosed for U.S. buyers. Clio's U.S. pricing page lists Clio Grow as an add-on — not available on EasyStart, "Contact your sales representative for pricing" on Essentials and Advanced, included on Expand — under a "Starting at $49/user" headline for Clio plans. Canadian pricing shows +$89/user/mo annual, +$99 month-to-month plus a $549 one-time setup. A 2020 Clio brochure lists standalone Clio Grow at $49 per user/mo billed annually ($59 month-to-month) with an optional $399 setup package — historical. Free trial is stated as 7 days, no credit card, on the Canadian page; the U.S. page says "Try it free. Cancel anytime."
Strengths
+Connects to Clio Manage so intake, marketing, case and document management stay in one platform — the integration an independent review calls the conversion-critical handoff.
+Clio Grow includes online intake forms, appointment booking, automated client emails, automated intake workflows, referral reporting, Google Local Services Ads and email marketing (included on the Expand plan).
+300+ app integrations on Essentials and above, plus Gmail and Outlook, QuickBooks, Xero, TrustBooks, e-signature and court e-filing; Clio Scheduler connects appointments to the calendar.
+Unlimited document storage on all plans; Clio Manage has iOS and Android apps and a client portal app on Essentials and above.
Watch for
07
B12
Best for firms that want an AI-generated draft plus built-in contracts, eSignatures and a client portal without buying separate tools
PricingSources differ. B12's pricing page shows Free $0 (b12sites.com subdomain), Website $24/mo and Website + Client Engagement $78/mo with a "$1 for first 7 days" offer; a second capture of the same page shows Website $49/mo (200 AI credits, 20 projects) with "$1/month for the first 3 months." The help center (updated 2026-08-18) lists Basic $49/mo ($42/mo annually), Basic + Client Engagement $78/mo ($67/mo annually), Professional $199/mo ($169/mo annually), Advanced $399/mo ($339/mo annually), with 15% off annual billing. So the self-serve tier is $24–$49/mo depending on the page. One-time $1,999 setup fee to move onto Professional or Advanced; extra team seats $29 each. From 24.
Strengths
+Client intake, contact manager, email marketing, contracts and eSignatures, file uploads and a client portal are built in on the Website + Client Engagement tier — no separate legal tooling required.
+B12 states there are no limits on contacts, forms, emails, contracts or eSignatures with the Contact Manager.
+Free plan at $0 to start a project, and B12 says a first AI draft generates in about two minutes with nothing to install.
+Do-it-for-you tiers (Professional $199/mo, Advanced $399/mo per the help center) include optional work with B12 copywriting, design and launch experts; Advanced adds five team seats and monthly website updates.
Watch for
–
08
Shopify
Best for firms selling products or packaged services online rather than generating consultation leads
PricingBasic $29/mo billed yearly ($39 monthly), Grow $79/mo ($105 monthly), Advanced $299/mo ($399 monthly), Plus from $2,300/mo. Sources differ on Plus monthly billing: the main pricing page reads "Starts at $2,300 USD/mo" while the Plus page states $2,500/mo on a 1-year term and $2,300/mo on a 3-year term. 3 days free with no credit card, then $1/month for the first 3 months, then standard pricing. POS Pro is an extra $89/mo per location. Third-party transaction fees if not using Shopify Payments: 2% Basic, 1% Grow, 0.6% Advanced, 0.2% Plus. From 29.
Strengths
+Unlimited products and unlimited marketing contacts on every plan, with 200+ real-time reports and custom analytics included throughout.
+Built-in lead capture, customer chat, email campaigns, marketing automations and abandoned-checkout recovery on all plans.
+Card rates fall with tier (from 2.9% + 30¢ online on Basic to 2.25% + 30¢ on Plus) and in-person acceptance runs 2.6% + 10¢ and down.
+No setup fees on any plan; 24/7 support on every tier, priority 24/7 phone support on Plus.
Watch for
–Lowest overall fit of the four platforms scored for lawyers at 6.0/10, with template aesthetic 4/10 and intake form integrations 5/10 — it is framed as an ecommerce platform, not a services or lead-generation one.
Side by side
What each one actually includes
Practice-area pages with unique copy
Intake form routed to case management
Bar-required disclaimers supported
Attorney bios with photos and credentials
Blog / content publishing
Local SEO and NAP / Google Business tie-in
Reviews and testimonials under state rules
Payments
Consultation scheduling
Legal-specific integrations
Enforces bar advertising rules
Squarespace
Yes
Yes — native or Zapier to Clio Grow, MyCase, Lawmatics
Layout supported; not enforced
Yes
Yes
Yes — SEO tools on all plans
Yes — not enforced
Yes — Squarespace Payments, POS, Pay Links
Add-on — Acuity Scheduling, separate subscription
Yes — via native integrations or Zapier
No
Wix
Yes
Partial — needs extra configuration for the case-management handoff
Partial — Google Local Services Ads, referral reporting
Not published
Yes — Clio payments, Pay Later with Affirm
Yes — appointment booking, Clio Scheduler
Yes — 300+ apps on Essentials and above
No
B12
Not published
Partial — built-in client intake; no named case-management link
Not published
Not published
Yes
Yes — traffic and SEO analytics
Not published
Yes — commerce and invoicing
Yes — appointment scheduling on Professional and above
Not published
No
Shopify
Not published
Partial — lead capture only
Not published
Not published
Not published
Partial — SEO automation on all plans
Not published
Yes — Shopify Payments, POS Pro add-on
Not published
Not published
No
Method
How we compared
01
Published price of the lowest plan that unlocks a custom domain and payments or intake, as listed on each vendor's own pricing page, captured 2026-09-24.
02
The seven-point lawyer checklist from an independent review: practice-area pages with unique copy of 600+ words, an intake form routed into Clio Grow / MyCase / Lawmatics, bar-required disclaimers, attorney bios with real photos and credentials (all "must"), plus NAP consistency with Google Business, a practice-area blog and reviews handled inside the state's rules (all "recommended").
03
Ease of editing by non-technical staff, because the sources state non-technical staff must be able to create, edit and organize content.
04
Intake handoff to case management, described as the difference between a same-day callback and a lead sitting in an inbox until Friday.
05
Local SEO and long-tail publishing, one page per specific service such as DUI defense rather than a broad "criminal law" page.
06
Maintenance burden and security posture, with the stated standard being SOC 2, GDPR and PIPEDA checks plus regular vendor updates and responsive support.
07
Editorial scoring for vendors without a published fit score is inferred from the qualitative matrices and stated weaknesses; the four published fit scores (Squarespace 8.8, Wix 6.8, Webflow 6.7, Shopify 6.0) are reproduced as scored.
Verdict
Squarespace is the strongest fit for a U.S. law firm building its own site: it is the only platform an independent checklist says handles all seven lawyer must-haves without additional apps, and it scored 8.8/10 overall in the one factor model that scores legal fit. Budget is WordPress at $4/mo annual, with the best SEO control rating in the field. Growing firms that want bookings, payments and legal-specific add-ons in one place should look at Wix, accepting the manual cleanup its disclaimer and structured-data defaults require. LawLytics and Clio Grow are the legal-specific options but neither publishes U.S. pricing.
bestOverall
Squarespace
Handles all seven lawyer must-have features without additional apps and scored 8.8/10 overall fit for lawyers — 9s on template aesthetic, practice-area publishing, intake integrations, ease of editing and mobile.
bestBudget
WordPress
Cheapest published entry at $4/mo billed annually ($2.75/mo on a 3-year term) with unlimited pages, posts and users, and the only "Excellent" ratings for both customization and SEO control in the CMS matrix.
bestForGrowingTeam
Wix
Plan ladder runs $17–$159/mo with 2 to 100 site collaborators, bookings and payments from the $29/mo Core plan, and a marketplace that catches legal-specific chat widgets and payment-plan tools Squarespace's does not.
Maintenance rated "Moderate–high" and security "Strong with proper plugins" — meaning security depends on plugin hygiene the firm has to keep up.
–Booking and scheduling are third-party plugins, not native; example pricing for a cleaning-booking plugin runs $79–$329/yr.
–A 10% transaction fee appears in the pricing table (the plan column it applies to is not shown in the captured extract); Business and Commerce run 0% on WooCommerce payments.
–No scheduling, dispatch, quoting or invoicing is part of the product; the vendor publishes no booking feature at all.
–No named integrations with practice-management or legal-specific systems are published on the pricing page.
–Ease of use rated only "Moderate" and maintenance "Low–moderate" in the CMS matrix; AI copy and SEO-audit features on a free Starter site require a paid Workspace plan.
B12's own pages disagree on the entry price ($24/mo vs $49/mo), AI credits (100 vs 200) and project caps (10 vs 20) for the same tier, and the trial offer differs between captures.
–Practice-area page structure, attorney bio layouts and legal-specific guidance are not published; the industries pages list Law but no legal content model is described.
–No named integrations with practice-management tools are published — only "online chatbots, online calendars, blogging platforms, and more."
–Appointment scheduling and intake forms sit on Professional and above in one description, while client intake is listed on the $78/mo tier in another; verify which plan carries what before buying.
–Nothing on the pricing page addresses service-business workflows: no scheduling, dispatch, quoting, service agreements or job-based invoicing is named.
–No booking, practice-management or accounting integration is named on any captured page; the only route is the generic App Store line.
–Cost tier is labelled "Premium" and the practical ceiling is high — Plus starts at $2,300/mo and POS Pro adds $89/mo per location.