For an independent U.S. dental practice, the practical shortlist is Open Dental if you want to see the price before you talk to sales, Weave if the front desk is drowning in calls and texts, and CareStack if you are running more than one location. Dentrix and Eaglesoft remain the incumbents worth quoting if clinical charting and insurance workflow are the deciding factors, but neither publishes a price. Curve Dental is the one to demo if you want to eliminate local servers entirely. DenGro is not sold in the United States, and RevenueWell publishes no plan prices.
Practices that want marketing, reactivation campaigns and patient communication layered onto an existing PMS
3.9 ★138 reviews
–
This page compares Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental, Curve Dental, CareStack, DenGro, Weave and RevenueWell as they are sold to dental practices in the United States. Everything here is dental-specific software: practice management, patient communication and marketing automation. Prices come from vendor pages where a vendor publishes them; where a vendor does not publish a price, that is stated as not disclosed and third-party estimates are labeled as such. No star ratings from G2, Capterra or Trustpilot were available for several of these products at the time of checking, and those fields are left empty rather than guessed.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
Dentrix
Best for large practices (10+ chairs) with clinical charting and insurance claims as the top priority
3.9 ★ · 376
Pricing
Not disclosed. The Dentrix Packages and Suites page carries no dollar figures — no monthly, annual, per-user or license price. Dentrix sells by quote. Connected Care Essentials is described as an annual support plan at one low monthly fee, with the amount unpublished.
Strengths
+270+ third-party applications integrate with Dentrix, plus Dentrix Smart Image connections to major imaging solutions
+Billing & Payments Suite combines Dentrix Pay, QuickBill Premium (email, text, mailed paperless statements) and automated ledger posting inside Dentrix — no third-party system or double entry
+Connected Care Essentials includes unlimited software and security upgrades, LiveChat support, built-in Dentrix Imaging and Claire AI, a conversational workflow assistant available 24/7
Show 2 more strengths
+Dentrix Ascend (cloud) includes unlimited users and centralized cloud data in every package
+DentalPlans.com integration (Dentrix G7.6 or later) enrolls uninsured patients into a Dental Savings Plan at the chair
Watch for
–No published pricing of any kind; budget only from a sales quote
–Two third-party cost estimates disagree — $300–700+ per month in one comparison grid, $500–700 per month plus training in the same page's narrative
–Learning curve described as steep (complex) in a third-party comparison grid
Show 2 more watch for
–Data access described as more closed than Open Dental for groups building reporting
–Henry Schein One supports only the latest two versions; imaging auto-install requires Dentrix version 25.5 or newer
Best for enterprise and multi-location groups that want service, training and updates bundled
4.9 ★ · 9
Pricing
Not disclosed. Patterson quotes by phone and describes Service Club as one low monthly fee with the amount unpublished. Third-party figures conflict: a cost tracker reports a median contract of $485 per year across 30 verified purchases, while a comparison grid lists $350–600+ per month. Sources differ; treat both as unofficial.
Strengths
+Eaglesoft Service Club bundles a license, free version updates, unlimited support by chat, email and phone, tailored on-site training, U.S.-based experts, equipment discounts and warranty replacements
+Three Service Club bundles pair Eaglesoft with Vyne Trellis services and discount the Service Club rate by 10% (Starter), 25% (Foundations) and 30% (Professional)
+Advanced Imaging is full bridge-free imaging with no added fees, including Dolphin 3D tools and Pearl AI real-time clinical detections on Eaglesoft images
Show 2 more strengths
+Front-desk and revenue tools are named: QuickFill fills open appointments, MoneyFinder surfaces revenue opportunities, SnapShot tracks performance trends, InContact manages patient follow-up tasks
03
Open Dental
Best for independent practices and small groups that want published pricing and direct database access
4.6 ★ · 87
PricingFrom 199
$199 per month per location in the United States for the first 12 months (12-month contract, all computers at the location, up to 3 providers), then $149 per month month-to-month after 12 consecutive months. Additional providers are $20 per month each (hygienists excluded). The only upfront cost is the first month of support fees. Data conversion is priced separately. Open Dental Cloud pricing is not published on the fees page.
Strengths
+The only U.S. vendor here with a full public fee schedule, including add-on prices down to per-message texting rates (US $0.04 per outgoing message)
+Direct database access, described as the most open of the on-premises systems for groups building their own reporting
+Free for support customers: eReminders, General Messages, Automated Thank-You, Patient Portal, Payment Portal, Message-to-Pay, Web Forms and webinars
Show 2 more strengths
+SmartSync provides real-time CRM sync with GoHighLevel, HubSpot and Salesforce; an Open Dental API plus a third-party endpoint reference covers patients, appointments, claims, payments, recalls and referrals
04
Curve Dental
Best for independent practices that want a fully cloud-based all-in-one with no local server
4.3 ★ · 351
Pricing
Not disclosed. The vendor's plans page publishes no plan names or prices; fees are set in Order Forms and invoices follow then-current prices. Third-party estimates are $349–549 per month and $350–500 per month (the latter under a SuperHero tier name that does not appear on the vendor's own page). A vendor-published $100 fee applies per additional dentist; all locations are included. Sources differ on price; only the per-dentist fee is vendor-confirmed.
Strengths
+100% cloud-based: practices eliminate servers, manual updates and IT complexity, with automatic backups, 24/7 remote access and automatic updates included
+All-in-one scope covering scheduling, charting, billing, imaging, patient engagement, revenue cycle management, analytics and mobile access
+Unlimited eClaims included in the subscription; AI-enabled insurance verification, online scheduling, digital forms and integrated payments
Show 2 more strengths
+Native dental imaging tools and near-universal digital x-ray sensor integration, with HIPAA compliance stated
05
CareStack
Best for groups, DSOs and multi-location practices that want AI clinical tools with published starting prices
4.8 ★ · 206
PricingFrom 829
Essentials starts at $829 per month. Intelligence starts at $1,299 per month. Custom/Enterprise plans are quoted — pricing is not disclosed, and the vendor prices by number of locations, chairs and providers. No annual rates are published. A Capterra listing shows US$698.00 per user per month, which conflicts with the vendor's figures and with the vendor's statement that licensing is not per-user.
Strengths
+Essentials covers multi-specialty scheduling, online appointments, charting and treatment planning, FDA-cleared native imaging, digital patient portal and forms, electronic eligibility verification, insurance claims management, emails/MMS and bulk texting, lab cases, HIPAA-compliant team chat and a daily huddle dashboard
+Intelligence adds AI-powered clinical notes, AI voice perio charting, AI X-ray analysis and AI clinical diagnosis, delivered in partnership with Overjet
+Licensing is set against locations, chairs and providers rather than seats, so you can add users without buying a new license for each one
Show 2 more strengths
06
DenGro
Best for dental practices in the UK and Ireland that want a dedicated lead-and-patient CRM
PricingFrom 199
Gro is £199 per practice per month including VAT. Pro is £249 per practice per month including VAT. Enterprise/DSO is bespoke — price not disclosed. DenGro sells to the UK and Ireland (its country dialog lists only those two markets) and publishes no USD pricing. Other figures in circulation conflict: a DenGro registration page shows £85, £170, £255, £340 and £245 alongside $56 and $73.99 billed annually with no plan mapping, and a comparison directory lists a Growth plan at £149 per month and a Pro plan at £189 per month. Use the pricing page figures.
Strengths
+It is the only product here built as a dental CRM rather than practice management: it tracks a patient from first contact through treatment and automates the follow-up sequences that fill chairs
+Unlimited users at no extra cost; pricing is per practice, not per seat
+No set-up fee, no contract and no tie-in — a rolling 30-day subscription you can cancel anytime, reactivatable within 60 days
Show 2 more strengths
+Shared inbox for two-way patient conversations by email, SMS and WhatsApp, with customisable dental-specific nurture sequences and a dental AI chatbot included in Pro
07
Weave
Best for practices that want the phone system, texting, payments and reviews in one monthly bundle
4.3 ★ · 3
PricingFrom 199
The base bundle is $199 per month and includes two premium Yealink phones. Pre-bundled add-ons start at $149 per month (Coordinate and Attract), with individual solutions priced per item — those amounts are not published. Named tiers on the pricing page are Ultimate, Elite and Pro, with message allotments of 15,000, 3,000 and 1,500 and up to 15 phones on Ultimate; per-tier dollar prices are not published. A third party says Pro starts around $249 per month, which the vendor page does not corroborate.
Strengths
+Base bundle covers Call Pop, two-way texting, missed-call text, Text to Pay, the mobile app, team chat, call analytics, fax, two premium Yealink phones and essential AI features
+Attract bundle ($149 per month) adds reviews, Text Connect, email marketing with 10,000 emails and bulk texting with 5,000 texts
+Coordinate bundle ($149 per month) adds online scheduling, digital forms, reminders and follow-ups, appointment confirmations and recall/reactivation texts and calls
Show 2 more strengths
+
08
RevenueWell
Best for practices that want marketing, reactivation campaigns and patient communication layered onto an existing PMS
3.9 ★ · 138
Pricing
Not disclosed for the marketing and communication plans. The plans page shows a Starter and a Premium tier plus add-ons (AI Receptionist, Dental Websites, RevenueWell TV) with no dollar figures. Dental Phone pricing is quote-only. The only published prices are for standalone RW Virtual Office: $149 per month with no contract, or $129 per month on a 12-month commitment with a 30-day full money-back window.
Strengths
+Premium includes two-way text, One Number (one business number for voice and text), mobile app, integrated phone, Screen Pop of PMS data on inbound calls, missed-call text, call recording, call center, digital forms, analytics, payments, CareCredit integration, automated collections and remote schedule access
+An earlier bundled lineup describes Professional as a full marketing platform with advanced marketing and reactivation campaigns, CDT code-specific templates, patient portals, patient reviews, social media management, RevenueWell Phone and RevenueWell Forms
+Premium adds a full website redesign and ADA TV streaming dental video
Show 2 more strengths
+
Side by side
What each one actually includes
Dentrix
Published monthly pricing
Not disclosed
SMS / text marketing
No
Email marketing
Yes
Landing pages
No
Online booking
Yes
Workflow automations
Yes
Review management
Yes
Payment processing
Yes (Dentrix Pay)
Mobile app
Not published
Direct data access
More closed (group reporting)
Eaglesoft
Published monthly pricing
Not disclosed
SMS / text marketing
No
Email marketing
Yes
Landing pages
No
Online booking
Yes
Workflow automations
Limited
Review management
Basic
Payment processing
Yes (CarePay+)
Open Dental
Published monthly pricing
$199 / location / month
SMS / text marketing
Yes (paid messaging)
Email marketing
Yes (Mass Email $8 + Mailchimp)
Landing pages
Yes (Web Forms, free)
Online booking
Yes (Web Sched, paid)
Workflow automations
Limited
Review management
Basic
Payment processing
Yes (Moolah, Fintu)
Mobile app
ODMobile $35 / month
Direct data access
Direct database access
Curve Dental
Published monthly pricing
Not disclosed
SMS / text marketing
Add-on only
Email marketing
Yes
Landing pages
CMS Hub only
Online booking
Requires integration
Workflow automations
Pro+ only
Review management
Yes
Payment processing
Requires integration (Curve Pay / Global Payments)
Mobile app
CareStack
Published monthly pricing
From $829 / month
SMS / text marketing
Yes (Emails/MMS and bulk texting)
Email marketing
Yes
Landing pages
Not published
Online booking
Yes (online appointments)
Workflow automations
AI notes and workflows (Intelligence plan)
Review management
Not published
Payment processing
Yes (financing integrations)
Mobile app
CS Mobile App
Direct data access
Weave
Published monthly pricing
From $199 / month
SMS / text marketing
Yes (Attract bundle, 5,000 texts)
Email marketing
Yes (Attract bundle, 10,000 emails)
Landing pages
Not published
Online booking
Yes (Coordinate bundle)
Workflow automations
Reminders, recall and reactivation (Coordinate bundle)
Review management
Yes (Attract bundle)
Payment processing
Yes (merchant services)
Mobile app
Weave Mobile App
Direct data access
Not published
RevenueWell
Published monthly pricing
Not disclosed
SMS / text marketing
Yes (750–3,250 texts)
Email marketing
Yes
Landing pages
Dental Websites add-on
Online booking
Yes (remote schedule access)
Workflow automations
Automated collections, campaigns
Review management
Yes (Professional bundle)
Payment processing
Yes (CareCredit, payments)
Mobile app
Mobile app
Direct data access
DenGro
Published monthly pricing
£199 / practice / month (UK & Ireland)
SMS / text marketing
Yes (usage charges apply)
Email marketing
Yes (included nurture sequences)
Landing pages
Yes (web forms)
Online booking
Not published
Workflow automations
Yes (custom email and SMS sequences)
Review management
Yes (regional review reporting on Enterprise)
Payment processing
Not published
Mobile app
Not published
Direct data access
Published monthly pricing
SMS / text marketing
Email marketing
Landing pages
Online booking
Workflow automations
Review management
Payment processing
Mobile app
Direct data access
Dentrix
Not disclosed
No
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes (Dentrix Pay)
Not published
More closed (group reporting)
Method
How we compared
01
Published pricing and plan names, taken from vendor pages first and labeled third-party where a vendor publishes nothing
02
Text, email and reactivation tooling — recall automation and follow-up sequences are the core of a dental CRM
03
Front-desk load: online booking, reminders, confirmations, missed-call text and two-way patient messaging
04
Reputation and payments: review management and integrated payment processing
05
Data access and reporting for groups: direct database access versus closed or API-only access
06
Compliance architecture: encryption, audit trails, role-based access and a signed Business Associate Agreement
07
Independent ratings with review counts, where any exist
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
For an independent U.S. dental practice, the practical shortlist is Open Dental if you want to see the price before you talk to sales, Weave if the front desk is drowning in calls and texts, and CareStack if you are running more than one location. Dentrix and Eaglesoft remain the incumbents worth quoting if clinical charting and insurance workflow are the deciding factors, but neither publishes a price. Curve Dental is the one to demo if you want to eliminate local servers entirely. DenGro is not sold in the United States, and RevenueWell publishes no plan prices.
Who should choose what
Best overall value
Open Dental
It is the only product here with a complete public U.S. fee schedule: $199 per month per location for the first 12 months including up to 3 providers, then $149 per month. Free patient portal, web forms, reminders and Message-to-Pay for support customers, direct database access, and SmartSync real-time CRM sync with HubSpot, Salesforce and GoHighLevel.
The $199 base bundle replaces the phone system outright and includes two premium Yealink phones, two-way texting, missed-call text, Text to Pay and a mobile app; the $149 Attract bundle adds reviews and email marketing. No long-term contract is required.
Published starting prices ($829 and $1,299 per month), licensing by locations, chairs and providers rather than seats, AI clinical notes and voice perio charting on the Intelligence plan, and the strongest independent score found in this comparison — 4.8 across 206 Capterra reviews.
Best to demo if you want a fully cloud-based all-in-one
Curve Dental
100% cloud-based with unlimited eClaims, native imaging, automatic backups and Curve Mobile, so no local server or manual updates. Ask for the Order Form price and read the 12-month term and early-cancellation clause before signing.
A dental CRM tracks every patient relationship from first contact through treatment completion and automates the follow-up sequences that keep chairs filled and cancellations minimised. Practice management systems like Dentrix, Eaglesoft and Open Dental handle the clinical record; CRMs and communication platforms like DenGro, Weave and RevenueWell handle lead follow-up, recall and reactivation. Many buyers run both.
Which of these publish their prices?
Open Dental ($199 per location per month, then $149), CareStack (from $829 per month, Intelligence from $1,299), Weave (from $199 per month) and DenGro (£199 and £249 per practice per month, UK and Ireland only). Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Curve Dental and RevenueWell publish no plan prices and quote by sales contact.
What does HIPAA require of this software?
Any software handling Protected Health Information in the U.S. must be built as a HIPAA-compliant web application from day one. The stated requirements are end-to-end encryption for all PHI at rest and in transit using AES-256 and TLS 1.3, comprehensive audit logs capturing every data access event with timestamps and user identifiers, role-based access controls enforcing minimum-necessary data principles, signed business associate agreements with every third-party service provider that touches PHI, and documented incident response procedures for breach notification.
Is a Business Associate Agreement optional?
No. A BAA is a legally binding contract required under HIPAA that obligates the vendor to protect PHI to the same standards as your practice. Vendor willingness to sign one is non-negotiable, and vendor due diligence should cover encryption protocols, data backup and recovery plans, access control mechanisms, and the vendor's track record for data breaches.
Are there independent ratings for these products?
Sparse. CareStack shows 4.8 across 206 Capterra reviews; RevenueWell shows 3.9 across 138 Birdeye reviews; Open Dental shows 4.6 averaged across platforms with 87+ reviews and 4.6 on GetApp; Dentrix shows 3.9 on Capterra (376 reviews) and 4.1 on G2 (131 reviews) in the same comparison table; Curve Dental shows 4.3 on Capterra (351 reviews) and 4.6 on G2 (165 reviews) there. Weave shows 4.3 on Software Advice with no review count displayed. DenGro publishes no scores or counts at all.
+90-day money-back guarantee on support fees and a 90-day guarantee on eServices
Watch for
–Per-location billing applies even when several treatment locations share one database
–Costs layer up quickly: eServices Bundle $165, ODTouch $85, eClipboard $45, Web Sched Recall $75, ODMobile $35, AI Image Analysis $149, all per month per location
–Data conversion from other software is not included and is priced under separate Conversion Fees
Show 2 more watch for
–Workflow automations and review management described as limited and basic in a third-party comparison grid
–A third-party comparison says there is no mobile app and that it is not cloud-native by default, which conflicts with the vendor's paid ODMobile product
+Curve Mobile for iOS and Android covers practice administration, patient records and image access on internet-connected devices
Watch for
–No published pricing at all; plan names are not published either
–Contract terms are firm: 12-month initial term, auto-renewal in one-year terms, 90 days' written notice to terminate, and early cancellation requires paying the remaining balance of the term
–In a third-party grid, SMS marketing is add-on only, landing pages sit behind CMS Hub, workflow automations are Pro+ only, and online booking and payment processing require integration
Show 2 more watch for
–Learning curve described as moderate-steep
–Late payment carries a $35 administrative charge per invoice per month
+Only one published add-on price in the whole category for membership plans: CS Membership at $99 per month for up to 60 members, then $2 per month per active member above 60, counted across all active locations
+Reserve With Google lets patients book from your Google listing straight into the diary
Watch for
–Even the entry plan is priced for groups, not for a single-chair practice
–Implementation fees may be charged depending on data-migration complexity and training needs; the amount is not published
–Third-party app use is free to the practice, but CareStack charges the third-party provider a fair-usage data fee which may be passed through to you
Show 2 more watch for
–VoiceStack (AI phone system), CareRevenue (managed RCM) and Ace DSN (procurement) prices are all not published
–The vendor's pricing page offers only demos; the free trial and free version badges on a Capterra listing are not corroborated on the vendor site
No long-term contract required, and it is a complete cloud VoIP system that replaces legacy phone hardware with existing numbers ported across
+Weave Mobile App is included in the base plan for calls, texts and voicemail showing your existing business caller ID
Watch for
–No full-platform free trial — free trials are offered only on newly released products to existing customers
–Setup, porting and per-line fees are not published by the vendor; third parties disagree, reporting a one-time setup fee of $500–$750 (or about $500) and $4–$5 per month per additional line
–Weave cannot plug into an existing legacy PBX — you lease Weave desk phones or use the mobile app
Show 2 more watch for
–Credit card processing rates are not published; the vendor says it will try to match your existing rate
–User seats, contact caps and overage rates are not published
Enterprise technology integrates with an existing practice management system to drive scheduling, Screen Pop and campaign targeting
+Text allowances are published in the feature grid: 750 on the Starter column and 3,250 on the Premium column, with 5 phones included
Watch for
–Plan prices are not published anywhere in the vendor's own material for the core product
–A one-time setup or registration fee may be charged at onboarding and is billed regardless of any promotional period
–Text limits and phone counts are shown without a stated period (month not confirmed) and no user, location or contact caps are published
Show 2 more watch for
–A customer review alleges extra per-transaction charges on processed payments and mentions paying $350 per month — a customer claim, not a published price
–The only independent score found is on Birdeye, which is itself a competitor in patient-communication software