Small Business Website Optimization: A Practical Guide for Local Service Businesses
What to fix on your website and Google Business Profile, what Google actually says about it, and what it costs.
Owners of independent local service businesses in the United States (plumbers, electricians, HVAC, cleaners, landscapers and similar) who run or are about to hire someone to run their website.
Website optimization for a small local business comes down to two jobs. The first is making sure Google can find, understand and trust your site and your Google Business Profile. The second is making sure the person who lands there can tell within seconds what you do, who you do it for, why they should trust you and how to call or book. Most advice you will find online covers only the first job, and often with statistics that have no year or no checkable source.
This guide sticks to what Google says on its own help and documentation pages (dated where a date is visible), adds survey data from named studies, and flags figures that conflict or cannot be confirmed. Where an industry claim contradicts Google's written rules, that is noted. Prices come from published guides and one survey of SEO providers, and they vary widely, so treat them as ranges rather than quotes.
One useful framing before you start: Google says there is no single page experience signal, no special trick for AI search, and no way to pay for a better local ranking. That leaves a short list of fundamentals: a site that loads and works well on a phone, accurate and rule-compliant Business Profile details, an honest review habit, unique and useful pages, and basic structured data. The sections below cover each and end with a step-by-step checklist.
At a glance
The facts that matter
Core Web Vitals targets: LCP 2.5 s or less, INP 200 ms or less, CLS 0.1 or less
Measured at the 75th percentile of page loads (web.dev, updated 2024-10-31). Only 48% of sites pass all three on mobile and 56% on desktop (HTTP Archive Web Almanac 2025).
AI Overviews and AI Mode: No additional requirements
Google's Search Central page (updated 2025-12-10) says there are no additional requirements to appear and no other special optimizations necessary. Pages must be indexable and eligible for snippets.
Paying for local ranking: Not possible
Google Business Profile Help says there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking. Ranking rests on relevance, distance and prominence.
Service areas: Up to 20, within about 2 hours' drive
If you do not serve customers at your address, remove the address and enter only your service area.
Reviews buyers want: 68% want 4.0 stars or more; 74% weigh the last three months
BrightLocal Local Consumer Review Survey, published 2026-02-11, 1,002 US adults. 81% expect a reply to a review within a week.
Where people read local reviews: Google 71% (down from 83% in 2025); ChatGPT/AI tools 45% (up from 6%)
Same BrightLocal survey. Reviews matter beyond Google, so a steady flow of recent, genuine reviews helps wherever buyers look.
Small businesses with a website: 83% (64% in 2018)
Clutch press release, 2025-08-21; sample size not given. A different figure, BrightLocal's 2025 SMB report as cited, says only 40% of SMBs report a dedicated website, so definitions differ.
Typical SEO retainer: $2,917 per month average; $501–$1,000 most common band
Ahrefs survey of 439 providers (2023, page updated 2024-08-15). Freelancers averaged $1,348.63 per month and agencies $3,209.
Fake and incentivized reviews: FTC rule effective October 21, 2024
The FTC rule prohibits fake reviews, buying reviews conditioned on sentiment, review suppression by threats, and undisclosed insider reviews.
Federal website-accessibility lawsuits: 3,117 in 2025, up from 2,452 in 2024
Counted by keyword search of Courthouse News Service data, so some cases may be missed. Secondary reporting says there is no small-business exemption; confirm with a lawyer.
A practical path
What to do
01
Run a site: search (site:yourdomain.com) in Google to confirm your pages are indexed. A sitemap is optional according to Google's SEO Starter Guide.
02
Test your key pages in PageSpeed Insights (pagespeed.web.dev) and check the Core Web Vitals report in Search Console. Aim for LCP 2.5 s or less, INP 200 ms or less and CLS 0.1 or less.
03
Open your site on a phone and confirm the mobile version carries the same main content, titles, meta descriptions and structured data as desktop. Do not hide primary content behind lazy-loading that needs a click or scroll.
04
Give every page a unique, descriptive title and meta description, plus descriptive URLs and image alt text. Do not repeat the same brand text in every title.
05
Run the ten-second test on your home page: what you do, who it is for, why to trust you, what the next step is, and how easy that step is.
06
Verify your Google Business Profile and bring it in line with Google's rules: real-world business name only, a staffed address or no address, and the fewest categories that describe your core business.
07
Choose one specific primary category and only a few additional ones from Google's list. You cannot create your own category.
08
If you travel to customers, remove your address and list up to 20 service areas within about 2 hours' drive of your base.
09
Ask every customer for a review, share your review link or QR code, and reply to reviews without offering deals in the replies. Offer no incentives, do not gate who gets asked, and set no review quotas for staff.
10
Add LocalBusiness structured data (JSON-LD) with name and address, and add telephone, openingHoursSpecification, geo, url and any other recommended properties that apply, using the most specific subtype.
11
Replace near-duplicate city pages with pages that each carry unique, useful content. Do not mass-produce location pages or AI-generated pages.
12
If your Business Profile still links to a Google-built free website, update the link to your own site.
13
Review accessibility basics and ask a lawyer about your exposure rather than relying on general advice.
14
Set a monthly routine: check indexing, Core Web Vitals, new reviews and replies, and the accuracy of your hours and service areas.
Watch for these
Common mistakes
Putting keywords, phone numbers or taglines in your Business Profile name
Google's guidelines say names cannot include taglines, store codes, hours, phone numbers or URLs. Some local-SEO experts rank keywords in the business title as a ranking factor, but that conflicts with Google's naming rules.
Publishing near-duplicate city pages
Google's spam policies describe doorway abuse as pages created to rank for specific, similar queries, and name pages targeted at specific regions or cities that funnel users to one page. Generating numerous pages with AI tools without user benefit falls under scaled content abuse.
Offering discounts or gifts for reviews
Google calls incentives such as free or discounted goods or services strictly prohibited, and its Maps policy bars paid-for reviews and pressuring customers to review while on the premises. The FTC's rule, effective October 21, 2024, also bars buying reviews conditioned on sentiment and suppressing reviews through threats.
Listing a P.O. box, remote mailbox or unstaffed virtual office as your address
Google says P.O. boxes and remote mailboxes are not acceptable, and service-area businesses cannot list a virtual office unless it is staffed during business hours. If you do not serve customers at your address, remove it and enter only your service area.
Choosing a category for every service you offer
Google says to use a few categories, not one per service, and to pick specific over general (for example, Nail salon rather than Salon). You cannot create your own category.
Chasing special AI-search tricks
Google says no additional requirements or special optimizations are necessary for AI Overviews or AI Mode. Standard SEO practice, indexability and snippet eligibility are what apply.
Treating Core Web Vitals as a guarantee
Google says there is no single page experience signal and that it will show the most relevant content even if the page experience is sub-par. Fix speed and layout problems because visitors notice them, not because passing guarantees rankings.
Obsessing over meta keywords, keyword stuffing, word counts or heading order
Google's SEO Starter Guide says not to focus on these.
Changing page dates to look fresh
Google's helpful-content guidance lists changing page dates to make pages seem fresh as a warning sign, along with producing lots of content on many topics in hopes some performs well.
Quoting unverified statistics
The '46% of searches have local intent' and '53% abandon after 3 seconds' claims trace to roughly 2018 and 2016 respectively and could not be traced to current Google pages. Complete-profile benefit figures also conflict across sources.
Choose with context
A decision guide
DIY site builder
Published cost range
$120–$300+/year ($9.99–$20.99+/month)
What to know
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). Its small-business scenario puts a builder at $119.88/year. Domain, hosting, SSL and maintenance may be priced separately depending on plan.
Freelancer or professional designer
Published cost range
$499+ one-time up to $5,000–$15,000+ for complex sites
What to know
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). Its small-business scenario puts a designer at $640+/year. Other 2026 guides summarized from vendor blogs put freelance builds at typically $5,000–$10,000 and up to $20,000. These differ by about 10x at the low end.
Agency build
Published cost range
$3,000–$10,000, plus $100–$400/month ongoing
What to know
Vendor-blog estimates (for example factoryjet.com). Most are from agencies or hosts pricing their own services.
Ongoing extras (any route)
Published cost range
Domain $0–$30/year (typically about $20); hosting $5.99–$300+/month; SSL $5.49–$28.99/month or $65.88/year on a 3-year term; maintenance up to $500 or more annually
What to know
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). GoDaddy's own hosting plans run $5.99–$24.99/month.
Way to build the site
Published cost range
What to know
DIY site builder
$120–$300+/year ($9.99–$20.99+/month)
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). Its small-business scenario puts a builder at $119.88/year. Domain, hosting, SSL and maintenance may be priced separately depending on plan.
Freelancer or professional designer
$499+ one-time up to $5,000–$15,000+ for complex sites
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). Its small-business scenario puts a designer at $640+/year. Other 2026 guides summarized from vendor blogs put freelance builds at typically $5,000–$10,000 and up to $20,000. These differ by about 10x at the low end.
Agency build
$3,000–$10,000, plus $100–$400/month ongoing
Vendor-blog estimates (for example factoryjet.com). Most are from agencies or hosts pricing their own services.
Ongoing extras (any route)
Domain $0–$30/year (typically about $20); hosting $5.99–$300+/month; SSL $5.49–$28.99/month or $65.88/year on a 3-year term; maintenance up to $500 or more annually
GoDaddy (2026-02-27). GoDaddy's own hosting plans run $5.99–$24.99/month.
Takeaway
Local website optimization is a short list of fundamentals done consistently: a fast, mobile-friendly site with unique pages and clear next steps, a Business Profile that follows Google's naming, address, service-area and category rules, and an honest, steady review habit. Google says there is no special AI trick and no way to pay for local ranking, so be skeptical of packages that promise either. Quote only statistics you can trace, and get written scopes before paying for a build or a retainer.
Run site:yourdomain.com and PageSpeed Insights, then check the Search Console Core Web Vitals report against LCP 2.5 s, INP 200 ms and CLS 0.1.
Biggest local lever
Fix your Business Profile
Use your real name, one specific primary category, a staffed address or none, and up to 20 service areas within about 2 hours' drive.
Ongoing habit
Ask for reviews the compliant way
Share a link or QR code with every customer, reply promptly, and avoid incentives, gating or staff quotas.
Avoid
City-page spam and special AI packages
Google names city-targeted funnel pages as doorway abuse and says no additional optimization is required for AI Overviews or AI Mode.
What website optimization means for a local service business
Search results for this topic are dominated by general SEO articles, and most of them treat website optimization and SEO as the same thing. For a plumber, electrician or cleaner, that leaves out half the job. A site that ranks but does not get the phone to ring is not optimized.
Start with a ten-second test, a framing used in Wix's small business guide: when someone lands on your page, can they tell what you do, who it is for, why they should trust you, what the next step is, and how easy that next step is? If any of those five answers is unclear, no amount of technical tuning will help.
Why trust matters so much: BrightLocal's 2026 survey of 1,002 US adults found that 54% visit a business website after reading positive reviews, up from 32% in 2019. Your reviews send people to your site, and your site has to finish the job.
Search behavior is also mobile. BrightLocal's 2026 Consumer Search Behavior report (as cited on its local SEO statistics page) puts 73% of local searches as starting on mobile, and a 2025 BrightLocal figure says 46% of people always or often add 'near me'. The rest of this guide splits the work into what Google reads (your site and your Business Profile) and what the visitor experiences.
What Google says about page experience and speed
Google's page experience documentation (updated 2026-09-22) says its core ranking systems look to reward content that provides a good page experience. It also says Google Search always seeks to show the most relevant content, even if the page experience is sub-par, and that there is no single signal. In plain terms: speed and usability help, but a slow site with the best answer can still outrank a fast site with a weaker one.
The Core Web Vitals thresholds Google rates as good are below. They are measured at the 75th percentile of page loads, across mobile and desktop (web.dev, updated 2024-10-31). Google's Core Web Vitals page (updated 2025-12-10) points to the Search Console Core Web Vitals report and PageSpeed Insights as the tools to use.
For context, HTTP Archive's Web Almanac 2025 (Performance chapter) found 48% of sites pass all three Core Web Vitals on mobile and 56% on desktop. On mobile, 62% pass LCP, 77% pass INP and 81% pass CLS. Many local sites are therefore already in the passing group, and the slow ones are most often held back by large images and layout shifts. Those two causes are an inference from what each metric measures, not a finding from these studies.
You may see the claim that 53% of mobile visitors abandon a site that takes over three seconds to load. It comes from Google's 2016 report 'The Need for Mobile Speed', as reported by Marketing Dive on 2016-09-12, which gave no sample size or methodology. Treat it as a ten-year-old figure, not a current benchmark. Google publishes no specific figures on how site speed, review counts or number of pages affect ranking. Any claim that does is the vendor's own.
Core Web Vitals 'good' thresholds
Metric
Good threshold
Measured at
Metric
Largest Contentful Paint (LCP)
Good threshold
2.5 seconds or less
Measured at
75th percentile of page loads
Metric
Interaction to Next Paint (INP)
Good threshold
200 milliseconds or less
Measured at
75th percentile of page loads
Mobile-first basics and on-page fundamentals
Google indexes the mobile version of your site. Its mobile-first indexing guidance (updated 2025-12-10) recommends responsive design and says the mobile and desktop versions should carry the same primary content, titles, meta descriptions and structured data. It also says not to hide primary content behind lazy-loading that needs a click or scroll to appear.
Google's SEO Starter Guide (updated 2025-12-10) covers the rest of the basics. Check indexing by searching site:yourdomain.com. A sitemap is not required. Use descriptive URLs, unique titles and meta descriptions, and image alt text. The guide advises against focusing on meta keywords, keyword stuffing, word counts or heading order.
On titles specifically (Google's title link page, updated 2025-12-10): Google sets no character limit and truncates titles typically to fit the device width. Each page needs unique title text, and you should not put the same brand text in every title. A title like 'Water Heater Repair in [City] | [Business Name]' on one page and a different, specific title on every other page follows that guidance.
On content, Google's helpful-content guidance (updated 2025-12-10) lists warning signs: producing lots of content on many different topics in hopes that some of it might perform well, and changing page dates to make pages seem fresh. For a service business, the practical read is to write about the services you actually perform, in the areas you actually serve, and to leave dates honest.
Optimizing for AI Overviews and AI Mode
Google's AI features page (updated 2025-12-10) is direct: there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary. Standard SEO practice applies, and pages must be indexable and eligible for snippets. If you are paying for a separate AI-search optimization package, ask what it does that the fundamentals in this guide do not.
AI results do affect clicks. An Ahrefs study found AI Overviews correlate with a 58% lower average click-through rate for top-ranking pages (December 2025 compared with December 2023, 300,000 keywords). That study covered informational keywords and did not analyze local-intent searches, so it does not tell you how much your own calls will change.
The review landscape is shifting too. In BrightLocal's 2026 survey, 71% of consumers use Google for local reviews, down from 83% in 2025, while 45% use ChatGPT or other AI tools for reviews, up from 6%. The practical takeaway: keep collecting genuine reviews, and do not assume Google is the only place buyers will read them.
Your Google Business Profile: how local ranking works
Google Business Profile Help says local results are based mainly on three factors: relevance, distance and prominence. Prominence includes website backlinks and customer reviews. Google also states that there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking. The tips it lists are to verify your business, keep information current, respond to reviews, and add photos and videos.
Local SEO experts weigh the factors differently. Whitespark's 2026 Local Search Ranking Factors report page surveyed 47 experts and lists the following weights for local pack and Maps results. A third-party summary (w3marketinghub.com and similar) gives different numbers: GBP 32%, reviews 20%, on-page 19% and links 15%. The two sets of weights differ and have not been reconciled, so use them as a rough guide to where effort tends to pay off, not as a formula. These are expert opinions, not Google statements.
Whitespark's top individual local-pack factors are in the second table. Notice factor 3: keywords in the business title. Google's guidelines forbid adding keywords to your name, so this is a case where an expert survey describes something that can get a profile in trouble if you do it.
Whitespark 2026 local pack and Maps ranking factor groups
Factor group
Approximate weight
Factor group
Google Business Profile signals
Approximate weight
Business Profile rules: name, address, service area and categories
Name. Under Google's guidelines for representing your business, names cannot include taglines, store codes, hours, phone numbers or URLs. Use your real-world name as customers know it.
Address. P.O. boxes and remote mailboxes are not acceptable. Service-area businesses cannot list a virtual office unless it is staffed during business hours. If you do not serve customers at your address, Google's service-area page says to remove your address and only enter your service area.
Service area. You can list up to 20 service areas, set by city, postal code or similar. Google says the boundaries of your overall area should not be more than about 2 hours of driving time from where your business is based. That is a real limit for a service business that wants to claim a wide region from one profile.
Categories. Google says you cannot create your own category, and you should use a few categories rather than one per service. Pick specific over general, for example 'Nail salon' rather than 'Salon'. Use the fewest categories that describe your core business. Whitespark's experts rank the primary category as the top local-pack factor, so choose it with care.
Description. Descriptions cannot contain links or focus on special promotions, prices and offer sales.
Free Business Profile websites. Secondary sources (for example zeeg.me) report that Google shut down websites built from Business Profiles in March 2024, with redirects guaranteed only to June 10, 2024. No Google page confirming those dates was found. If your profile still points at one of those sites, check the link and update it to your own site.
Reviews: what Google allows, what the FTC requires and what buyers expect
Google's help page on getting more reviews tells businesses to remind customers to leave reviews and to share a link or QR code. Incentives, such as free or discounted goods or services, are strictly prohibited. Reply to reviews, and avoid offering deals in the replies.
Google's Maps contribution policy goes further. It prohibits reviews or ratings that have been paid for, directly or in kind. It also says merchants should not require or pressure users to leave ratings or write reviews while on the premises, and bars merchants from requesting that staff solicit a certain number of reviews. Merchants may solicit or encourage the posting of content that does represent a genuine experience, without offering incentives.
The legal layer: the FTC's Consumer Reviews and Testimonials rule took effect October 21, 2024. It prohibits fake reviews, buying reviews conditioned on sentiment, review suppression by threats or unfounded legal threats, and undisclosed insider reviews. Courts may impose civil penalties for knowing violations. The FTC's Q&A page does not state a dollar amount.
How the score works: Google says the review score is the average of all ratings published on Google, and that a new review may take up to 2 weeks to show in the score.
What buyers expect (BrightLocal Local Consumer Review Survey, published 2026-02-11, 1,002 US adults): 97% read reviews for local businesses, and 41% do so consistently. 68% want at least 4.0 stars and 31% want at least 4.5. 74% prioritize reviews from the last three months. 81% expect a response to a review within one week, and 19% expect one the same day. The takeaway is a habit, not a campaign: ask every customer, keep the flow steady, and reply promptly and without offers.
BrightLocal Local Consumer Review Survey, 2026
Finding
Figure
City and service-area pages: where doorway risk begins
Many local sites try to rank in nearby towns by publishing a page per city. Google's spam policies (updated 2026-08-28) describe doorway abuse as sites or pages created to rank for specific, similar search queries. They specifically name multiple domain names or pages targeted at specific regions or cities that funnel users to one page. Google's page does not treat location pages as their own category, so the test is whether each page serves a visitor on its own.
The same page defines scaled content abuse: many pages generated for the primary purpose of manipulating search rankings, including using AI tools to generate numerous pages without user benefit.
A safer approach: build a location page only where you genuinely work, and put something on it that could not be copied to the next town, such as the jobs you have done there, local conditions that affect the work, and answers to questions customers there actually ask. If you cannot do that for a town, it likely does not need its own page.
Structured data: LocalBusiness markup
Google's LocalBusiness structured data documentation (updated 2026-09-08) lists name and address (as a PostalAddress) as required. Recommended properties are telephone, openingHoursSpecification, geo (with at least 5 decimal places), url, priceRange, review and aggregateRating. Google says to use the most specific subtype available, and JSON-LD is the format shown in its examples.
Keep the markup consistent with what is on the page and in your Business Profile, and keep the mobile and desktop versions the same, as Google's mobile-first guidance asks.
Accessibility and legal exposure
Website-accessibility lawsuits are rising. A tally on adatitleiii.com counted 3,117 federal website-accessibility lawsuits in 2025, up from 2,452 in 2024, using a keyword search of Courthouse News Service data, so some cases may have been missed.
Secondary reporting says ADA Title III has no small-business exemption, that courts typically cite WCAG 2.1 AA, and that the DOJ has set no standard for private business websites. One search summary reports roughly 64% of those suits targeted companies under $25M in revenue; that figure was not checked against the original. Treat all of this as secondary and confirm with a lawyer. No published price for accessibility remediation was found.
Statistics that conflict or cannot be confirmed
Several statistics circulate widely in small-business SEO articles. Use the following guidance before quoting any of them.
Complete Business Profile benefit. BrightLocal's local SEO statistics page cites Google for three figures: customers are 2.7 times more likely to consider a business reputable, 70% more likely to visit, and 50% more likely to consider purchasing. A snippet of a Google page (google.com/intl/en_uk/business/resources/be-found-on-google/what-business-profile-on-google-can-do/) shows different numbers: twice as likely reputable, 38% more likely to attract visits and 29% more likely to lead to a purchase. That snippet could not be confirmed on fetch. Semrush (2025-09-24) also states '70% more likely to be visited' and credits Google. No current Google help page states any of these figures. The safe takeaway is that a complete, accurate profile helps; do not quote a specific multiplier.
'46% of searches have local intent.' BrightLocal cites Google official and Search Engine Roundtable, 2018; Semrush cites Google with no year. The original statement could not be confirmed. Treat it as an unverified, roughly 2018 figure.
'53% abandon after 3 seconds.' A 2016 Google report as relayed by Marketing Dive, with no sample size or methodology given.
Other vendor claims, such as a 2026 Seer Interactive figure of 61% lower organic CTR with AI Overviews, a zero-click figure from Similarweb, '88% of 322 local markets lost visibility', mobile conversion of 2.2% versus desktop 4.3%, and emergency-service pages exceeding 15% conversion, came from unattributed or secondary summaries and have no checkable source. Do not rely on them.
Business website adoption also depends on who is counting. Clutch's press release (2025-08-21; sample size not given) says 83% of small businesses have a website, up from 64% in 2018, with 17% having none. Among those, 41% used DIY builders, 34% WordPress or Shopify and 12% custom builds, and 45% outsourced the build. NFIB reportedly found 82% website adoption (521 members, March 2025), per a summary of Clutch material. BrightLocal's 2025 SMB Marketing Report (as cited) says only 40% of SMBs report a dedicated website and 35% a Google Business Profile. The gap likely reflects different samples and definitions.
What a website costs to build and run
Published building costs span a wide range, and most estimates come from hosts and agencies pricing their own services. The ranges below are from GoDaddy (2026-02-27) unless noted. Vendor estimates for a freelancer differ by about 10x ($499+ against $5,000–$10,000), so ask for a written scope before comparing quotes.
A DIY builder runs $120–$300+ per year ($9.99–$20.99+ per month). A freelancer or professional designer runs $499+ one-time up to $5,000–$15,000+ for complex sites. Add-ons include a domain at $0–$30 per year (typically about $20), hosting at $5.99–$300+ per month (GoDaddy's own plans are $5.99–$24.99), SSL at $5.49–$28.99 per month or $65.88 per year on a 3-year term, and maintenance at up to $500 or more annually. GoDaddy's small-business scenario totals $119.88 per year for a builder and $640+ per year for a designer.
Other estimates from 2026 vendor blogs, seen through search summaries: agency builds at $3,000–$10,000 plus $100–$400 per month ongoing, freelance builds typically $5,000–$10,000 and up to $20,000, and a two-year cost of a professional site of 150–200% of the original invoice (the last one is unverified).
No published figure was found for the cost of fixing Core Web Vitals or for accessibility remediation.
What SEO services cost
The best survey data comes from Ahrefs, which polled 439 SEO providers in 2023 (page updated 2024-08-15). The average monthly retainer was $2,917 overall: agencies $3,209, consultants $3,250 and freelancers $1,348.63. The most common retainer band was $501–$1,000. Hourly rates averaged $111, with $75–$100 most common. Per project, agencies averaged $9,507.84, consultants $8,685.53 and freelancers $2,348.63, with $2,501–$5,000 the most common band. In the US and Canada, 79.1% of providers charge $1,001 or more per month. Retainers for worldwide targeting were 123.1% higher than for local targeting.
A search summary of w3era.com cites a local SEO retainer average of $1,557 per month (agencies $1,819, freelancers $1,150) and attributes it to the same 2023 survey of 439 providers. That does not match the Ahrefs page, so treat it with caution.
Other published ranges: the BDC guide (updated 2025-08-13, fetched via summarizer, so check it) gives about $3,500 per month at agencies and $75–$100 per hour for specialists. Semrush (2025-09-24) gives freelance SEO at $25–$150 per hour in the US, flat-fee deliverables at $500–$2,000+, and its tools from $139.95 per month. Network Solutions (2026-03-27) says hired SEO runs over a thousand dollars per month in competitive markets, and that doing it yourself takes 3–5 hours a week at first, then 2–3 hours a month. The US Chamber guide (2026-03-23), citing an Ahrefs guide, says agency retainers shouldn't exceed $5,000 per month. One vendor package example, Succeeding Small (no page date, copyright 2026), lists Starter at $1,250, Scaler at $2,250 and Succeeder at $3,650 per month, with results expected in 'two to three months'.
Local Services Ads costs are not part of website optimization and Google has not published figures; only vendor benchmarks turned up, for example an agency-reported average of about $53 per lead in February 2026, which is unverified.
SEO provider pricing, Ahrefs survey of 439 providers
What most small-business SEO guides leave out
Popular guides on this topic mostly treat website optimization as SEO, with little attention to getting calls and form fills (Wix's ten-second test is the exception). Many carry no statistics, or statistics without a year, such as Google's 46% local-intent figure, BrightEdge's three-quarters of clicks going to organic results, and GroupM's 94% figure.
Topics that get little or no coverage in those guides, and that matter to a local service owner, include Google's own statement that no special AI optimization is needed, Business Profile naming and address rules, review-solicitation rules and the FTC rule, the 20-service-area and 2-hour-drive limit, doorway-page risk from service-area pages, accessibility legal exposure, local-pack ranking weights, and specific US price ranges for the total cost of a local business's website and SEO. This guide covers each of those.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is small business website optimization?
It is the work of making your website and Google Business Profile easy for Google to find and trust, and easy for a visitor to act on. That means a site that is indexed, loads well on a phone, has unique titles and useful pages, a Business Profile that follows Google's rules, a steady flow of genuine reviews, and a home page that clearly says what you do, who it is for, why to trust you and how to take the next step.
Do I need to do anything special to show up in Google's AI Overviews or AI Mode?
No. Google's Search Central page (updated 2025-12-10) says there are no additional requirements to appear in AI Overviews or AI Mode, nor other special optimizations necessary. Standard SEO practice applies, and your pages must be indexable and eligible for snippets.
What Core Web Vitals scores should my site hit?
Google's good thresholds are LCP within 2.5 seconds, INP of 200 milliseconds or less and CLS of 0.1 or less, at the 75th percentile of page loads. Test with PageSpeed Insights and the Search Console report. Google says there is no single page experience signal and that relevance can win despite a poor page experience, so passing does not guarantee ranking.
Can I pay Google for a better local ranking?
No. Google Business Profile Help says there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking. Local results depend on relevance, distance and prominence, and prominence includes website backlinks and customer reviews.
Should I put my address on my Business Profile if I travel to customers?
If you do not serve customers at your address, Google says to remove your address and enter only your service area. You can list up to 20 service areas, and the overall area shouldn't extend more than about 2 hours of driving time from your base. P.O. boxes and remote mailboxes are not acceptable, and a virtual office is allowed for service-area businesses only if it is staffed during business hours.
Can I put keywords in my Google Business Profile name?
No. Google's guidelines say names cannot include taglines, store codes, hours, phone numbers or URLs. Some local-SEO experts in Whitespark's 2026 survey list keywords in the business title as a ranking factor, but that practice conflicts with Google's rules.
How many categories should I choose?
Use the fewest that describe your core business, a few rather than one per service. Pick specific over general, for example 'Nail salon' rather than 'Salon'. You cannot create your own category. Whitespark's experts rank the primary category as the top local-pack factor.
Can I offer a discount to customers who leave a review?
No. Google says incentives, such as free or discounted goods or services, are strictly prohibited, and its Maps policy bars paid-for reviews and pressuring customers to review on the premises. The FTC's rule, effective October 21, 2024, also prohibits buying reviews conditioned on sentiment. You can ask every customer and share a link or QR code.
How quickly do I need to respond to reviews?
In BrightLocal's 2026 survey, 81% of consumers expect a response to a review within one week and 19% expect one the same day. Google tells businesses to reply to reviews and to avoid offering deals in the replies. A new review may take up to 2 weeks to show in your Google score.
Should I build a separate page for every city I serve?
Only where you can add unique, useful content for that place. Google's spam policies name pages targeted at specific regions or cities that funnel users to one page as doorway abuse, and describe using AI tools to generate numerous pages without user benefit as scaled content abuse.
Do I need a sitemap?
Google's SEO Starter Guide says a sitemap is not required. Check that your pages are indexed by searching site:yourdomain.com.
What structured data should a local service business add?
LocalBusiness markup in JSON-LD. Google requires name and address (as a PostalAddress) and recommends telephone, openingHoursSpecification, geo (at least 5 decimal places), url, priceRange, review and aggregateRating. Use the most specific subtype available.
How much does a small business website cost?
Published estimates vary widely. GoDaddy (2026-02-27) lists a DIY builder at $120–$300+ per year and a freelancer or professional design at $499+ one-time up to $5,000–$15,000+ for complex sites, plus domain, hosting, SSL and maintenance. Agency builds in vendor blogs run $3,000–$10,000 plus $100–$400 per month. Get written scopes before comparing quotes.
How much does SEO cost for a local business?
An Ahrefs survey of 439 providers (2023, page updated 2024-08-15) found an average monthly retainer of $2,917, with $501–$1,000 the most common band and freelancers averaging $1,348.63. Another figure cited elsewhere, a $1,557 average for local SEO, does not match the Ahrefs page. Network Solutions says doing it yourself takes 3–5 hours a week at first, then 2–3 hours a month.
Does my small business website have to be accessible?
Secondary reporting says ADA Title III has no small-business exemption and that courts typically cite WCAG 2.1 AA, with 3,117 federal website-accessibility lawsuits filed in 2025, up from 2,452 in 2024. The DOJ has set no standard for private business websites. Confirm your exposure with a lawyer.
My Business Profile used to have a free website. What happened to it?
Secondary sources report that Google shut down websites built from Business Profiles in March 2024, with redirects guaranteed only to June 10, 2024. No Google page confirming those dates was found. If your profile still points at such a site, update the link to your own website.
Vendor pages change. Figures are as published on the capture date; confirm before deciding.
Metric
Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS)
Good threshold
0.1 or less
Measured at
75th percentile of page loads
Source: web.dev/articles/vitals, updated 2024-10-31. Test with PageSpeed Insights (pagespeed.web.dev) and the Search Console Core Web Vitals report. Passing does not guarantee ranking.
about 25%
Factor group
Reviews
Approximate weight
about 20%
Factor group
Behavioral
Approximate weight
about 18%
Factor group
Links
Approximate weight
about 15%
Factor group
On-page
Approximate weight
about 12%
Factor group
Citations
Approximate weight
about 7%
Factor group
Personalization
Approximate weight
about 3%
Source: whitespark.ca/local-search-ranking-factors/, 2026 report page, 47 experts surveyed. Expert opinion, not Google statements. A third-party summary gives GBP 32%, reviews 20%, on-page 19%, links 15%; the two sets differ.
Whitespark's top five individual local-pack factors
Visit a business website after reading positive reviews
Figure
54% (32% in 2019)
Source: brightlocal.com/research/local-consumer-review-survey/, published 2026-02-11, 1,002 US adults.
Complete Business Profile figures that do not agree
Claim
BrightLocal (citing Google)
Google page snippet (unconfirmed)
Claim
Seen as reputable
BrightLocal (citing Google)
2.7 times more likely
Google page snippet (unconfirmed)
Twice as likely
Claim
Likelihood to visit
BrightLocal (citing Google)
70% more likely
Google page snippet (unconfirmed)
38% more likely
Claim
Likelihood to purchase
BrightLocal (citing Google)
50% more likely to consider purchasing
Google page snippet (unconfirmed)
29% more likely to lead to a purchase
Sources: brightlocal.com/resources/local-seo-statistics/ and a snippet of a Google page that could not be confirmed on fetch. Semrush (2025-09-24) repeats the 70% figure. No current Google help page states any of these.
Pricing type
Overall / most common
Agencies
Consultants
Freelancers
Pricing type
Average monthly retainer
Overall / most common
$2,917 average; $501–$1,000 most common band
Agencies
$3,209
Consultants
$3,250
Freelancers
$1,348.63
Pricing type
Hourly rate
Overall / most common
$111 average; $75–$100 most common
Agencies
not stated
Consultants
not stated
Freelancers
not stated
Pricing type
Per project (average)
Overall / most common
$2,501–$5,000 most common band
Agencies
$9,507.84
Consultants
$8,685.53
Freelancers
$2,348.63
Source: ahrefs.com/blog/seo-pricing/, survey in 2023, page updated 2024-08-15. 79.1% of US/Canada providers charge $1,001 or more per month. Worldwide-targeting retainers were 123.1% higher than local. A $1,557 local-SEO average (agencies $1,819, freelancers $1,150) cited elsewhere does not match this page.
Other published SEO price points
Source
Date
Figure
Source
BDC guide (fetched via summarizer)
Date
2025-08-13
Figure
About $3,500/month minimum at agencies; $75–$100/hour for specialists
Source
Semrush
Date
2025-09-24
Figure
Freelance SEO $25–$150/hour (US); flat-fee deliverables $500–$2,000+; Semrush tools from $139.95/month
Source
Network Solutions
Date
2026-03-27
Figure
Hired SEO over a thousand dollars per month in competitive markets; self-managed 3–5 hours/week at first, then 2–3 hours/month
Source
US Chamber of Commerce
Date
2026-03-23
Figure
Agency retainers shouldn't exceed $5,000/month, citing an Ahrefs guide