Comparison · Best Marketing Software For Restaurants
Restaurant Marketing Software: 8 Platforms Compared on Price, Contracts and POS Fit
Published pricing, plan names, contract terms and ratings for the restaurant marketing platforms named most often in buyer guides — with gaps marked as not disclosed.
Owners of independent restaurants and small restaurant groups in the United States
For an independent US restaurant, the deciding factors are the fee structure per order, what the contract locks you into, and whether the POS sync actually feeds your campaigns. Owner.com is the strongest all-in-one for a single location on a predictable monthly bill. Toast Marketing is the cheapest way to start if Toast POS is already in place. Birdeye is the pick when reviews and listings are the problem, and SevenRooms fits reservation-led fine dining and groups.
Enterprise restaurant brands running order volume across marketplaces and delivery providers
–
Restaurant marketing software covers the tools operators use to bring guests back: email and SMS campaigns, online ordering, website and local SEO, reviews, loyalty and reservations. This page compares eight platforms that appear repeatedly in buyer guides — Owner.com, Toast Marketing, Popmenu, SevenRooms, BentoBox, Birdeye, Thanx and Olo — on the things an independent operator actually pays for: published price, contract terms, per-order fees, POS fit and what the vendor will put in writing.
Supporting detail
8 options, ranked
01
Owner.com
Best for independent restaurants that want website, ordering, SEO, mobile app and marketing on one monthly bill with no long-term contract
Pricing
Two plans, billed month-to-month with no long-term contracts. Flexible: $249/month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order. Flat Rate: $499/month with no restaurant fees, positioned for restaurants at $5k+/month in online sales. Guests pay a 5% order support fee on both plans. Setup and migration with a dedicated specialist is included, and the vendor says many restaurants launch within a week. Both plans include all features. A separate buyer's guide cites roughly $499 a month flat as of mid-2026. Annual pricing, free trial terms, seat/contact/order limits and add-on prices are not disclosed.
Strengths
+Month-to-month billing, no cancellation fees, plan switching allowed anytime
+All features on both tiers: AI-optimized website, online ordering, branded mobile app, automated SEO pages, loyalty and rewards, email and text campaigns, direct catering orders, chargeback protection, 24/7 support
+Confirms customer data ownership, including emails and phone numbers collected through the ordering site
Show 2 more strengths
+POS and ordering connections reported as Square, Clover and Toast (via Otter)
+AI builder adds locally relevant keywords to dish pages and manages Google Business Profile
Watch for
–On Flexible, a 5% restaurant fee per order scales with sales
–SEO model relies on programmatic location pages; search engines are rewriting how they treat thin pages and operators have flagged this as a 12 to 18-month risk
–No published seat, contact, order or location limits; multi-location rates are quote only
Best for restaurants already running Toast POS that want email, SMS and basic loyalty tied to POS guest data
Pricing
Sold as an add-on to Toast POS; only available to restaurants that use Toast POS. Toast's own blog lists Toast Email Marketing at $75 per month. Toast Marketing Essentials, which groups Gift Cards, Loyalty, Email Marketing and SMS Marketing, is reported at $185/month per location from a competitor's recorded demo call in June 2026. Third-party figures cited for à la carte modules are roughly $75/month email, $50/month loyalty and $50/month gift cards — about $175/month combined. Underlying Toast POS plans are reported at $0/month with 3.69% + $0.15 processing or $69/month with 2.49% + $0.15. Toast does not publish add-on pricing on its own site, and no annual pricing, trial or contact limits are published.
Strengths
+No export/import step between POS and email tool; guest data flows from Online Ordering, Loyalty, gift cards, digital receipts, the Toast Local app and Toast Tables
+One-time campaigns and automated nurture campaigns, with custom segment lists (VIP guests, birthdays this month, catering customers) and location-level segmentation
+Connects Meta (Facebook/Instagram) with an AI writing assistant; Toast Advertising runs Google, Facebook and Instagram campaigns toward your own ordering channels
Show 1 more strengths
03
Popmenu
Best for restaurants that want a website, interactive menu, reviews and AI-assisted marketing in one menu-driven package
4.7 ★ · 5
Pricing
Three published tiers. Starter: $159/month prepaid annually, $179 month-to-month. Essentials: $269 prepaid annually, $299 month-to-month. Premier (marked best value): $449 prepaid annually, $499 month-to-month. A custom Build-your-own option is quote only. Online ordering and catering is an add-on on all three tiers with a flat $1.00 per online order, which can be passed to the guest or absorbed by the restaurant; a card processing fee also applies at a rate that is not published. AI phone answering is $349/month. Delivery runs through DoorDash Drive at a flat fee that is not published. Setup fees in the low four figures and multi-year contracts are reported by third parties. All plans are sold through a demo; upgrade or downgrade anytime with no penalties.
Strengths
+Starter includes an SEO-driven website, interactive menu, Google Business Profile sync, guest contact collection, automated email marketing, dish reviews and responses, event calendar and OpenTable menu/guest data integration
+Essentials adds mass email, social posting (Facebook, Instagram, X), 500 SMS/month, 6 AI-crafted emails and social posts per month, a central marketing calendar and performance reporting
+Premier adds 5,000 SMS/month, audience segmentation, digital waitlist and reservations, guest feedback, reputation management for listings and reviews, and AI-crafted review replies
Show 2 more
04
SevenRooms
Best for fine dining and restaurant groups that need reservations, CRM and guest data in one system
Pricing
Not disclosed. SevenRooms publishes no prices on its own pricing page — no monthly, annual, per-venue or seat rate. A third-party buyer's guide reports typically $300 to $700 per location per month, and a third-party FAQ states pricing is per venue per month without figures. The only named tier is Starter: CRM and guest profiles, branded reservations and waitlist management, table management, reputation management, basic marketing automations, and access to the DoorDash and Deliveroo reservation marketplaces with no cover fees. Tiers above Starter are not published. Email marketing, event management, voice AI, WhatsApp/text marketing, API and integrations, and a group portal are listed add-ons with no prices published. No free tier; trial options are handled by sales.
Strengths
+Reservation, CRM and personalized marketing in one platform
+100+ integrations and a flexible API across POS, PMS and booking partners; named channels include Google, DoorDash Reservations, Facebook and Instagram
+Reputation management aggregates Google, Yelp, TripAdvisor and Facebook reviews into guest profiles
Show 1 more strengths
+Bookings supported in fourteen languages
05
BentoBox
Best for restaurants that want strong website SEO structure and local profile management
Pricing
Not disclosed. BentoBox does not publish a monthly or annual price in the materials reviewed for this page. One buyer's guide names it among vendors charging one-time setup fees in the low four figures, sometimes waived during sales pushes — if a rep says the fee is waived, get it on the contract. Fee write-ups exist in third-party guides, but no rate is published on the vendor's own site. Plan names, limits and trial terms are not disclosed.
Strengths
+Editable meta titles, descriptions and schema markup
+Integrates local profile management
+Reported connections with Clover, Otter and ItsaCheckmate
Show 1 more strengths
+Setup fee waivers are sometimes available during sales pushes
Watch for
–Data ownership is described as ambiguous — clarify export rights directly with the team before signing
06
Birdeye
Best for restaurants with three or more locations, or any operator recovering from a review problem
4.7 ★ · 4,225
Pricing
Birdeye's own pricing page publishes no prices and routes buyers through a configurator to sales. Third parties report three plans — Starter, Growth and Dominate — and the figures differ by source: roughly $299/month entry scaling by location, with Growth at $349 or $399 and Dominate at $449 or $499 per location per month. One guide reports 12-month contracts billed annually, onboarding of $500–$1,500 per location and an approximately 8% innovation fee at renewal; none of that appears on Birdeye's site. Users and contacts are reported as unlimited on all plans. Reports of a free trial conflict between guides; the vendor publishes no trial terms.
Strengths
+Review collection, monitoring and AI-drafted replies across Google, Yelp and Facebook
+Listings management across 150+ listing sites, directories and data aggregators including Google Business Profile and Apple Business Connect
+Reported integrations include ServiceTitan, Salesforce, HubSpot, Toast and property-management systems
Show 1 more strengths
+One buyer's guide says this single category breaks even fastest, often inside 60 days
07
Thanx
Best for multi-location food-service brands that want card-linked loyalty and a branded app
Pricing
Not disclosed. Thanx publishes no prices or self-serve tiers; pricing is set per customer in an Order Form based on restaurant count, average unit volume and the capabilities needed. The only plan name published is the "Thanx 360 Plan" in the merchant agreement, covering the platform, branded app, web ordering and API as listed on the Order Form. Fees are non-refundable and non-cancellable. Locations are fixed in the Order Form and will not be downward adjusted during the term; adding locations requires 15 days' written notice. The contract auto-renews unless either party gives 60 days' notice. Third-party SMS provider charges and food-delivery pass-through fees apply in addition. No free tier is published. The vendor states works only with companies based in the USA and Canada at this time.
Strengths
+Loyalty can run card-linked or check-in based by QR code or phone lookup
+Digital ordering includes abandoned-cart recovery, hidden menu campaigns, item-level cross-sell, Flybuy curbside pickup and merge-tag personalization
+Offer redemption through POS lookup by phone, email, QR or code, plus kiosk (Bite, Grubbrr) and tableside (Up 'N Go, Sunday)
Show 2 more strengths
+Open APIs and automated data warehouse syncs; 50+ to 60+ POS and technology partners named on the vendor's pages
08
Olo
Best for enterprise restaurant brands running order volume across marketplaces and delivery providers
Pricing
Not disclosed. Olo has no public price list; contracts are negotiated per brand under a Master Service Agreement with per-location order packages and overage fees. Invoice line items documented in Olo's help center include a service edition / platform fee per active location, order package fees and overage, order transaction fees, a 5% Order with Google fee on enhanced-redirect orders, a 1% gateway fee for customers not using Olo Pay, dispatch and DSP fees, and technology monthly and transaction fees — the article notes these are examples and the MSA governs. The only public price list found is the Local Store Marketing SMS plan at $15/month for 500 SMS sends, with overage at $0.03 per message, plus bundles of $10 for 500 more or $30 for 1,500 more. Guest Intelligence is included at no additional cost for Olo Order customers. No free tier is published.
Strengths
+POS injection with two-way menu, pricing and availability sync to 15+ certified third-party marketplaces
+Dispatch network of 27+ delivery service providers
+Guest Intelligence included at no additional cost for Olo Order customers with full store access
Show 1 more strengths
+Documented invoice structure makes per-order and per-location cost components explicit
Side by side
What each one actually includes
Owner.com
Published starting price
Yes
Month-to-month billing published
Yes
Email marketing
Included
SMS marketing
Included
Online ordering
Included
Branded mobile app
Included
Loyalty program
Included
Review / reputation management
Not published
Local SEO and listings tools
Included
Reservation and CRM
Not published
Customer data ownership confirmed
Yes
Free tier or trial published
No
Toast Marketing
Published starting price
Partial
Month-to-month billing published
Not published
Email marketing
Add-on
SMS marketing
In suite
Online ordering
Via Toast POS
Branded mobile app
Not published
Loyalty program
In suite
Review / reputation management
Not published
Popmenu
Published starting price
Yes
Month-to-month billing published
Yes
Email marketing
Included
SMS marketing
Included (500–5,000/mo)
Online ordering
Add-on
Branded mobile app
Add-on
Loyalty program
Add-on / coming soon
Review / reputation management
Included (Premier)
Local SEO and listings tools
Included
SevenRooms
Published starting price
No
Month-to-month billing published
Not published
Email marketing
Add-on
SMS marketing
Add-on
Online ordering
Not published
Branded mobile app
Not published
Loyalty program
Not published
Review / reputation management
Included (Starter)
BentoBox
Published starting price
No
Month-to-month billing published
Not published
Email marketing
Not published
SMS marketing
Not published
Online ordering
Not published
Branded mobile app
Not published
Loyalty program
Not published
Review / reputation management
Not published
Birdeye
Published starting price
Third-party only
Month-to-month billing published
No (12-month terms reported)
Email marketing
Included
SMS marketing
Included
Online ordering
Not published
Branded mobile app
Mobile app included
Loyalty program
Not published
Review / reputation management
Included
Local SEO and listings tools
Included
Thanx
Published starting price
No
Month-to-month billing published
Not published
Email marketing
Included
SMS marketing
Pass-through fees
Online ordering
Included
Branded mobile app
Included
Loyalty program
Included
Review / reputation management
Not published
Local SEO and listings tools
Olo
Published starting price
No
Month-to-month billing published
Not published
Email marketing
Not published
SMS marketing
LSM plan published
Online ordering
Included
Branded mobile app
Not published
Loyalty program
Not published
Review / reputation management
Guest Intelligence
Local SEO and listings tools
Published starting price
Month-to-month billing published
Email marketing
SMS marketing
Online ordering
Branded mobile app
Loyalty program
Review / reputation management
Local SEO and listings tools
Reservation and CRM
Customer data ownership confirmed
Free tier or trial published
Owner.com
Yes
Yes
Included
Included
Included
Included
Included
Not published
Method
How we compared
01
Published price first. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the price is listed as not disclosed and any third-party figure is labeled as such rather than treated as a vendor rate.
02
Contract terms. Term length, cancellation, renewal notice, setup fees and per-order fees change the real cost more than the monthly sticker, so they are recorded wherever a source documents them.
03
POS and data. Guides weight POS integration explicitly: five or more POS integrations scores full marks in one rubric, and sync depth should cover modifiers, timestamps, fulfillment type and refresh frequency — not just order totals.
04
Segment fit. One guide maps 46 companies across 21 categories and excludes platforms not built for restaurants; another warns against enterprise platforms for one to three locations. Both filters are reflected in the verdict.
05
Ratings are reported only where a figure appears in the record. No star rating, review count or app-store score is published for Toast Marketing, SevenRooms, BentoBox, Thanx or Olo.
Verdict
Conclusion
Our recommendation
For an independent US restaurant, the deciding factors are the fee structure per order, what the contract locks you into, and whether the POS sync actually feeds your campaigns. Owner.com is the strongest all-in-one for a single location on a predictable monthly bill. Toast Marketing is the cheapest way to start if Toast POS is already in place. Birdeye is the pick when reviews and listings are the problem, and SevenRooms fits reservation-led fine dining and groups.
Who should choose what
Best overall for an independent restaurant
Owner.com
Month-to-month billing with no cancellation fees, all features on both tiers, setup and migration included, 24/7 support, and confirmed ownership of the guest emails and phone numbers your ordering site collects. Flat Rate at $499/month removes per-order fees entirely; Flexible at $249/month plus 5% per order lowers the fixed cost. Watch the programmatic location-page SEO model, flagged as a 12 to 18-month risk.
Toast's own blog prices the email add-on at $75/month, and there is no export step between POS and email tool. Accept the trade-offs the guides report — the email tool is clunky next to Mailchimp and loyalty is weak next to Thanx — and treat it as a data-sync and campaign layer rather than a full marketing stack.
Best for reviews, listings and multi-location reputation
Birdeye
Review collection, monitoring and AI-drafted replies across Google, Yelp and Facebook, with listings sync across 150+ directories. One guide says this category breaks even fastest, often inside 60 days, and positions it for restaurants with three or more locations or a review problem to recover from. Budget for a 12-month term billed annually and confirm every rate in writing — the vendor publishes no prices.
Best for fine dining and groups built on guest data
SevenRooms
Reservations, waitlist, table management, CRM and reputation management in one platform, with 100+ integrations and a flexible API. Pricing is quote-based and reported at $300 to $700 per location per month, and the same guide calls it overkill for fast-casual.
Owner.com ($249/month plus 5% per order, or $499/month flat), Popmenu ($159 to $499 per month depending on tier and billing) and Toast's own blog ($75/month for Toast Email Marketing). SevenRooms, BentoBox, Thanx and Olo publish no prices; Birdeye publishes no prices even though third parties report three tiers in the $299 to $499 per location range.
Are there independent ratings for these platforms?
Only three figures appear in the record: Owner.com reports 4.8 across 1,000+ reviews without a platform breakdown; Popmenu states a 4.7/5 G2 rating with no published review count; Birdeye is reported by third parties at 4.7/5 from 4,225 reviews on G2 and 4.7/5 from 705 on Capterra. No rating or review count is published for Toast Marketing, SevenRooms, BentoBox, Thanx or Olo. Thanx states its branded apps average 4.9 stars in app stores, with no counts and no source link.
What should I get in writing before signing?
Setup fee waivers on the contract itself rather than in a chat transcript, term length and renewal notice, the per-order or per-transaction fee, and your right to export your customer database. One guide records BBB complaints from 2025 about a vendor charging operators after cancellation requests, and another notes that some providers restrict exports or hide advanced fields behind premium plans.
How should I project total cost?
Guides recommend a 24 to 36-month projection rather than a monthly sticker price, because setup fees, per-order fees and add-ons compound. Popmenu's online ordering add-on carries a flat $1.00 per online order plus $50/month in one buyer guide's framing; Olo invoices separately for platform, order package, transaction, gateway and technology fees; Owner.com's Flexible plan charges 5% per order on top of the subscription.
Which POS systems should I verify compatibility with?
Toast, Square, Clover, Lightspeed and Aloha are the common connections named across guides. Per vendor, Owner.com is reported with Square, Clover and Toast (via Otter); Popmenu with Toast, Square, Clover, Oracle, NCR and SpotOn, plus OpenTable and DoorDash Drive; BentoBox with Clover, Otter and ItsaCheckmate; Thanx with Toast, Square, Olo, NCR, Qu and Deliverect. Verify your specific POS on the vendor's list before committing, and ask what the sync captures — modifiers, timestamps, fulfillment type and refresh frequency, not just order totals.
Vendor pages change. Figures are as published on the capture date; confirm before deciding.
+
Recommended add-ons for Uber Eats, DoorDash and Grubhub; $0 commission on Toast Local transactions
Watch for
–Requires Toast POS
–Reported as clunky for email compared with Mailchimp and weak for loyalty compared with Thanx — the guidance is to use it for the data sync and do real email elsewhere
–Marketing Essentials bundle price is sourced from a competitor, not from Toast
Show 1 more watch for
–First audience import covers only guests who gave an email and visited within the last six months
+White-label branded apps published on iOS and Android under the operator's brand
Watch for
–No published pricing, tiers or limits; fees are non-refundable and non-cancellable
–Location count is fixed for the term and cannot be reduced
–Auto-renewal with 60 days' notice required to exit
Show 1 more watch for
–Built specifically for multi-location food-service brands — guidance elsewhere warns against platforms sized for chains when you run one to three locations